Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 39 reviews
Master Cleanse Diet

Master Cleanse Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A 50-year old approach to liquid dieting.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

Master Cleanse Diet is a juice fast weight loss fad that is intended for short term use. It was created in the 1940’s and is still used today as a way to promote fast weight loss.

The diet claims it can detoxify the body and help remove fat. It is popularized today due to it being used by the celebrity Beyoncé. It’s also known as the Lemonade Diet, and there are free resources online which explain it in detail. Our weight loss experts have rated several diets and found the 18Shake Diet to be the most effective. It offers results via anappetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. Learn more information about its benefits by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

Master Cleanse Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

For an entire 10 days you are allowed only to drink certain liquids. This is to flush out toxins and help create a more energized body. Eventually some solid foods are slowly reintroduced. Here are the following steps one must follow:

• Salt Water Flush: 2 teaspoons of non-iodized salt and a full quart of lukewarm water are mixed. This isdrunk in the morning to help flush out the system and stimulate the bowels. You aren’t allowed to add anything else and no solid foods are allowed.

• Lemonade beverage: This includes 10 ounces of spring or purified water, 1/10 of a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 2 tablespoons of maple syrup, and 2 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice. One must drink 6 to 12 glasses a day for the entire period.

• Laxative or Peppermint Tea: Peppermint tea is meant to help cure nausea and soothe the stomach. An herbal laxative tea can also be drunk before bed to stimulate digestion and clean the system of toxins. There is no specified brand for either of these teas. Laxative teas are added to help further bowel movements, which some customers say is impossible to have by drinking only the allowed liquids.

This is done for a full 10 day period. After this you can start adding things like juice, vegetable soup, raw fruits and vegetables. It’s advised to reintroduce these foods slowly, as to not disturb the body and cause digestive issues.Our experts have created a list of the very best weight loss diets here.

There are potential side effects to this diet as Web MD mentions:

“This diet puts you at risk for nutritional deficiencies”

They also discuss how it works in terms of weight loss:

“It’s an unhealthy way to temporarily lose weight”

Due to the potential side effects, this type of diet can promote many unwanted symptoms. There are fears that any weight one loses will only be temporary, and that sustaining the body on just these types of ingredients is unhealthy. This is because one is not receiving adequate nutrition needed for the body to repair itself.

The claim that detoxifying the body is a good way to lose weight has also not been verified. Web MD mentions:

“There’s no proof that detoxifying leads to long-term weight loss. Plus, you don’t need to detox your body – your liver takes care of that”

No studies are provided either to help show if this is an effective and safe way to lose weight. There are potential side effects one might experience that include:

         • Fatigue, restlessness, and digestion issues.

         • Diarrhea, bloating, and ill feelings.

         • Loss of energy, blood sugar issues, and headaches.

For a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets, click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Master Cleanse Diet Quality of Ingredients

Ingredients like lemon or lime juice, maple syrup, cayenne pepper, and tea can be healthy when used alongside a healthy diet. To drink only these things for a total of 10 days means one won’t be receiving adequate vitamins, minerals, and macronutrients. There’s no protein and not enough fiber and carbohydrates.

Relying on weight loss via laxatives and this few amount of calories can lead to a lack of energy, brain fog, and several other issues.

There’s also a salt water drink which can flood the body full of sodium. It’s clear that one will likely lose weight, but health organizations and sites like Web MD confirm the weight will likely return. They add:

“Becauseyou’re getting so few calories, you’ll probably lose weight. You’ll also be losing muscle, bone, and water. And you’re likely to gain the weight right back”

There’s no proof that one will actually be losing any real fat. It’s most likely that water weight and important bone and muscle density will be reduced. This can be very unhealthy and it’s likely why the diet is only advised for a total of 10 days. A full listing of the highest rated diets for weight loss is available here.

The Price and Quality of Master Cleanse Diet

There’s just a few ingredients needed for this diet to work. Every drink one makes will be homemade, though there are some companies which sell a ready to drink version of the lemon or lime beverage.

There is also a detox tea one has to buy which is often low in cost. The main issue is that there is no proof that this is a healthy way to lose weight. It can be extremely difficult to sustain the diet, and it’s unlikely one will be losing weight that won’t return quickly. Web MD adds:

“You’ll likely be hungry on such a strict diet”

This can reduce the likelihood of it succeeding, and the kinds of foods one has to buy are low in nutrients. This is why many who try this diet complain about a lack of energy and ill feelings.

Business of Master Cleanse Diet

This diet was created by a Stanley Burroughs, who discussed it in 1940. It was officially published in a book printed in 1976 known as The Master Cleanse. No evidence is provided to show if this diet is safe and effective.

The creator has a background in natural health, but he has no certification or degree in health, nutrition, or any form of weight loss specialty. He also was subject to a major lawsuit for giving out medical advice without a permit. Defend Your HealthCare.com adds:

“He was charged with… murder because the jury found that the death of a patient was the result of Burroughs practicing medicine without a license”

It’s unknown how he came up with the Master Cleanse Diet, but it’s clear there is no evidence to support its safety and effectiveness. For a list of the best weight loss diets, click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Master Cleanse Diet

Here are some select reviews from online reviews:

“cramps in my calves and a wonderful case of diarrhea”

“I had no energy to workout or tend to my family”

“I would get sick and start puking up some of the water”

“This is not a healthy way of losing weight or detoxing”

There were people who lost weight, but there were issues with it immediately returning as soon as regular food was eaten. Users also had issues with side effects such as a loss of energy, fatigue, headaches, nausea, stomach cramps, vomiting, diarrhea, and bloating.

Even with 10 days of use people have experiencednumerous symptoms. Our experts have rated and ranked the best weight loss diets in a list featured here.

People commonly stated how they felt awful while on this diet and that they couldn’t perform regular tasks. This is likely due to the extreme reduction of calories.

Conclusion - Does Master Cleanse Diet Work?

The Master Cleanse Diet is a detoxing plan used to help one lose weight quickly while providing energy. The creator of this diet has had several lawsuits filed against him for making unproven health claims. There’s also no evidence that by eating the few allowed drinks that this would lead to sustained and healthy weight loss. There are doctors who have reviewed this diet and found it to be potentially unhealthy. It does not have enough vitamins and minerals to provide the body with proper nutrition. There are also issues with users experiencing side effects and rapid weight gain. Without any real evidence, it’s impossible to determine if this diet would be safe and effective long-term.

Our experts rate several diets and they found that the 18Shake Diet was the most effective for weight loss. It combines an appetite suppressing full meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill. The intended effect is to help burn extra calories while receiving a vitamin and mineral rich meal replacement that is low in calories. There are no added fillers, stimulants, colors preservatives, or artificial additives. Customer’s testimonials are also found on the official website from satisfied customers who’ve lost weight.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This guarantee is offered to customers with no questions asked. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, click the link here.

How Does Master Cleanse Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Master Cleanse Diet
  • 35 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 41 total comments)

sims

+

I've done this once before back in December 2010 and I lost weight (I'd guess about 6 lbs in a week). I could tell because I look at pictures from then and my face is slimmer and stomach is flatter. I've attempted it several times again but haven't been able to go past 2 days. I'm going to start again tomorrow and stay on until March 6th (2 weeks)!

posted Feb 21st, 2012 5:34 am


rose

hi im on my 7th day of master cleansing i loose weight and all my pimples are gone,this is my 3rd time cycle well,you can feel dizziness,weakness in the 1 to 3 days but on my 7th day i feel head ache,i called my doctor to have my BP but its normal i guess my 7th day is the day where toxins are releasing in my body.3 more days and im done with this

posted Jan 15th, 2012 10:26 pm


DANIELLE

i LOVE THE MASTER CLEANSE. i HAVE DONE IT 3 TIMES SO FAR, AND THE FIRST 2 DAYS, I HAVE A HEADACHE BY NIGHT TIME.. SO I TAKE AN ADVIL.. IT'S THE WITHDRAWALS FROM CAFEINE AND SUGAR. BY THE 3RD DAY, I FEEL FULL OF ENERGY AND I DON'T GET TIRED LIKE I USUALLY DO WORKING SHIFT WORK. I LOSE 10-12LBS EVERYTIME... IT REALLY PROMPTS ME TO EAT HEALTHY, BUT AFTER A FEW WEEKS.. I GO BACK TO MY BAD EATING HABITS.... THANK GOD FOR THIS CLEANSE... I KNOW I CAN DO IT EVERY 3-4 MONTHS AND FEEL GREAT ALL OVER AGAIN.

posted Nov 16th, 2011 5:58 pm


Abana

I did this master cleanse for 40 days.and no i did not die.lol.Anyway.before i started i had fibromyalgia and bipolar.i was also allergic to antibiotics of everykind.i was on 22 prescriptions before i started.now i am on 0.i did this diet exactely as stated in the book.laxative teas at night.warm sea salt water in the mornings and the water ,lemon juice and maple syrup mixture.and they is what i lived on for 40 days.I am here to tell you.I am no longer on any of those prescriptions and i no longer have fibromyalgia and i am no longer allergic to antibiotics.and something else as well.the doctor said my mitral valve prolapse he can barely hear .which means there is an improvement there as well.I have to say when i got done with the master cleanse.I did a colon clean a couple months later .i got in shape for the first time in my life.i should have stayed in shape haha.but all is well .So i hope this helps somebody out there.and not everyone is the same but for me this worked well.

posted Oct 29th, 2010 5:55 am


Jodie

I've done this diet before..I agree with alot of the people, it really does work..however it was also the hardest diet Ive EVER been on..if you can clean out your cupboards do so..I have small children so I couldnt banish everything from the house..which was hard..I tried to avoid the kitchen like the plague..by about the 3rd day I swear I could hear the cookies calling out my name when I lay in bed at night!..I got a little cranky at times to say the least..and gawd forbid if my fiance was cooking something tasty..haha..and that salt water flush..ugh..awful..the first couple days I drank it warm cause thats what it said..thought there was a reason for it..I threw it up both times..3rd day I tried it cold and held it down..I contacted Peter through the website and he advised it doesnt matter what temp the water is, as long as you can hold it down thats what counts..so seriously..drink it cold..much easier to hold down!..I found it a really tough diet but...it works..no pain no gain right? I really want to try it again but find myself putting it off..and off.. :op..

posted Sep 29th, 2010 11:46 am


Brian

Nice post. I‚??ve been thinking about trying the master cleanse myself. It's a good idea to clear out all the junk once in a while.

posted Aug 24th, 2010 11:24 am


Shaleena

I am glad that I read the review, because I have been looking into this detox (I have done the Smart Cleanse only a couple of times and you are allowed to eat, but mostly organic veggies/whole grains, lean chicken and fatty fish). I was wondering about my excercise regimen, because I do work out and was wondering if I should adjust my regimen or suspend it altogether if I am not eating anything. I was also wondering about the functionality. Smart Cleanse was very gentle and I was able to function normally at work without too many "disruptions" to my day and I was wondering if this one would be more disruptive.

posted Jun 21st, 2010 10:14 am


Manda

I did the master cleanse for 10 days. My experience was just as Tom Wolshyn described in his book. I followed the directions closely using the salt water flush not the laxative. My psoriasis actually went away and stayed away for a month. I felt great the whole time and lost 8 pounds. I plan to try it again in a few months to see if my psoriasis will go dormant again. I wonder if how we experience the cleanse depends on our individual physiology is when we start!

posted Jan 17th, 2010 4:56 pm



steah

+

I mentioned the idea of a Master Cleanse iphone app a while ago. Well, we made it and it's awesome. Check it out at http://bit.ly/7IlOu8 We'd love to hear feedback about it. Cheers!

posted Nov 20th, 2009 7:10 pm



steah

+

After doing the Master Cleanse for 15 days, not to loose weight or because celebs do it, I felt and still feel incredible. I hear a lot of comments our there saying how it's a quick weight loss fix and that weight is put back on soon after. It wasn't true in my case. I just became more mindful of what I put into my body after being on the cleanse and I've kept the weight off. Not so sure I agree with the conclusion of the entry, but hey, we are all entitled to our own opinions! Also, what do you guys think of a master cleanse iphone application? I saw one on the appstore but it was pretty awful. My friends and I are developers and thinking of making one - one that stays true to the Burrough's method, designed to really work. Think it would be worth making? Thanks!

posted Nov 17th, 2009 8:18 pm


whitneymak

+

Love this cleanse. I always feel amazing afterwards. Planning on starting another one tomorrow to prepare my body for a massive lifestyle overhaul.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 4:15 am


userfile
Kathleen Cullers

+

I like to do the cleanse twice a year, just to clean out all the toxins. I don't consider it a diet, but you do loose weight.

posted Jul 12th, 2009 2:12 pm


Richard

+

TEST YOUR WILL POWER!!! -- I agree with Bridget... Although, I did The Complete Master Cleanse (2007) by Author: Tom Woloshyn once before, about 6 months ago and I ONLY did it for 7 days. I felt I could've gone longer... I ended early do to a last minute goin away party 3 days later. Though, I didn't consume anything except for fruit and salads. My experience on the Cleanse was AMAZING!!! The first 3 days, I was rather sluggish & fatigued. 4th day hunger passed me by. Did the sea salt bath which worked great! I drank the laxative tea before bed too. I even watched the Food Tv network to "test my will"... And, I succeeded! -- I'm 37 yrs old, 5'10" and before I started the cleanse I weighed 227lbs. The day after I ended my 7 day trial, I weighed 208lbs. Once I started to consume regular food again with the exception of red meat & pork, I've only gained 6 lbs. and I fluctuate in weight between 209-214lbs. till now! -- I'm currently on the 5th day of my 2nd Trial as I write this! My plan is to go for 2-3 more weeks. So far, I'm feeling GREAT! No hunger, no fatigue, have LOTS of energy, my tongue is normal color not pasty-white like during days 2-4, no body odor (didn't exprience that the 1st time either) a little acne breakout on my shoulders but that happened before too and cleared up by the 4th day. I've recommended this cleanse to a lot of good friends & all results have been successful with no ill side effects or complaints from anyone! My female friends tell me about their new clothes, especially jeans, dropping down two to four pants sizes in 10 days!
DON'T cheat yourself... You'll be amazed how strong your will is!!!

posted Mar 9th, 2009 7:44 am


dayna

+

Iam going on day 2..when do I start pooping all the toxins out? and will it still work if I dont use the saline wash? Iam drinking the Laxative tea at nite and in the morning. I cant drik or gargle anything with salt, i will puke!.

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 10:24 pm


Cathy

I have a friend who uses the la shakes to keep her weight down. I like them for the protein content. My friend was a member until her place shutdown. We'd like to know if it would be possible to buy them online.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 9:03 pm


Bridget

+

I've done the master cleanser about 4 or 5 times over the past 5 years. I think it's great, and it really does clean you out. All the weird stuff you "eliminate" (poop out) is not supposed to be in your body!! At first it's bile (bright yellow) and mucus. What you're doing it breaking up mucoid plaque in your colon and then with the laxative tea and salt water flush, you're washing it out. The side effects are DETOX SYMPTOMS. It can be difficult to stay on it, but once you get past 3 days, it gets a little easier. I've lost at least 10 pounds in the 10 days on the diet, sometimes more. You can make it easier by squeezing a whole bunch of lemons and limes at once at freezing them in ice cube trays, they're usually about 2 tablespoons each so you can easily measure it when you make it each morning. If you've thought about doing it, TRY it!! Just make sure you read the book (Peter Glickman's book is helpful and explains a lot more), and break the fast properly or you might have digestion problems. I agree, it's not for permanent weight loss, but it will make you feel cleaner and lighter and by the end, I had way more energy!

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 11:44 am


saliyurn

this is not some cleansing it is a cover up its just laxative with flavor in liquid form. when you take it some wierd and gross stuff will com out of you. i found out everything that happens in the book it does not clear your skin it may cause your skin to get psoriasis a horrible skin disies(i spelled that wrong i know).

posted Feb 16th, 2009 6:14 pm


JS

-

I liked Simply Slender diet better because it is premixed. I just had to add water. Same ingredients with more vitamins. See what you think

posted Nov 26th, 2008 1:23 pm


mark

I saw a review on it here which is interesting, they say there are better cleanses.

posted Aug 6th, 2008 9:55 am


ruth

yes the diet is great and my bp went from 145/90 to 116/74 p 76 but after 25 days i do feel a little weak and i will go off and do orange juice tommorrow. by the way how much calories a day are we talking for doing this cleanse i never really paid attention.

posted May 24th, 2008 9:20 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Also known as the Maple Syrup Diet or the Lemonade Diet, The Master Cleanse is one of the most severe and popular cleansing fasts that has been used for decades to lose weight, detoxify the body or improve overall wellness. Rigorously followed by Beyonce Knowles and a legion of other celebrities, including Ashton Kutcher and Demi Moore, to shed 20 pounds for her role in Dream Girls, the cleanse has been followed by thousands of individuals from yoga practitioners to those desperate to lose some quick weight.

The Master Cleanse is a tonic of four simple ingredients - water, lemon juice, cayenne pepper and maple syrup - that is consumed throughout the day with no other food or beverages permitted. The intense fast can be followed for a minimum of 10 days or for a maximum of 45 days.

You can make your own Master Cleanse tonic or you can purchase a Master Cleanse kit at a health food store.

Health and medical experts are quick to criticize the Master Cleanse for its lack of scientific evidence, its starvation-like guidelines, and its potential for side effects.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

PROPRO
  • Will lose weight
  • Cleanse followers claim an increase in energy, improvement of skin tone and clearer vision
CONCON
  • No medical evidence that extreme diets like The Master Cleanse actually rid the body of toxins
  • Provides only a short-term solution for weight loss
  • May have adverse effects on your organ function, digestion and metabolism
  • Side effects include irritability, headaches, insomnia and possible stomach irritation
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The Master Cleanse Diet has you drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses a day of this special concoction comprised of water, lemon juice, maple syrup and cayenne pepper. Each of the ingredients have a specific purpose:

  • Lemon juice is supposed to help your body detoxify
  • Maple syrup provides an energy source and added flavor
  • Cayenne pepper is supposed to boost your metabolism
EXERCISEEXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Master Cleanse Diet, but since your energy intake is so low, vigorous exercise is not encouraged nor will it likely even be possible.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are alluring to people who are looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. Celebrities are drawn to it because they need to drop weight fast for roles or TV appearances. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they say the danger is a part of the risk they take for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Master Cleaner Diet, Master Clenser Diet, Mister Cleanser Diet, Master Cleanser, Master Cleanse

Whats better than
Master Cleanse Diet?