Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Diet Pills Review (UPDATED 2022): Does Alli Really Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2022
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Overall the best weight loss pill we’ve reviewed this year is Sletrokor. This natural supplement combines plant based extracts which can assist fat loss in multiple ways. We’ve provided more information about Sletrokor including testimonials in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2022?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Ingredients:

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated. Compiled in this link are the year’s best weight loss pills.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

This top 10 list offers a brief outline of the best weight loss pills.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.

To get the best weight loss results possible, we advise looking at the top 10 weight loss pills.

The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

The year’s best weight loss pills have been carefully ranked in the top 10 list here.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: [email protected]

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2022, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

For appetite suppression and lasting fat loss we recommend the years best weight loss pills.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.

Review the year’s best weight loss pills which were favorited by customers by clicking here.

Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2022 is the all-natural Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even backed by a reputable company that produces their formula in a FDA approved facility. Read testimonials, the ingredients list, and see what made Sletrokor our top weight loss pill by clicking here

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 20, 389 total comments)

Robin

I was on Alli, if you eat right then you won't have the side effects. I didn't lose any weight but my co-worker lost 15 pounds in 6 weeks. His wife lost 10 in 6 weeks but was also running everyday. I switched to Curvelle and I actually think it works. I am sensitive to side effects and so far I haven't had any on curvelle. As for Alli....you eat wrong...you end up in the bathroom, you eat right...you are fine.

posted May 8th, 2008 4:48 pm


Cher

I just ordered it I hope it works for me I'll report back in about a month.

posted May 8th, 2008 4:12 pm


cycy

i just start today...will post something in a week

posted May 7th, 2008 10:32 pm


nodependsformethanx

most disgusting side effects and you can't control it -I threw a months supply out --I would rather have a few extra pounds than wear depends because you're not sure what may or may not come out -- FLIPPIN GROSS!!!

posted May 5th, 2008 8:38 am


sathom

started using it, didn't lose but 2 lbs in an entire month but managed to crap orange uncontrollably, without eating high fat foods.... even when i passed gas it was embarassing at work, and even stained my pants. do not recommend to any one who is a human being.

posted Apr 30th, 2008 8:46 pm


Kay

I have been taking Alli since November 07. As of today 4/29/08, I have lost 35 lbs. You have to be dedicated to this diet to make it work(duh, like all other diets). Getting in the correct calories and fat intake are key, and all the little books that come with the starter kit explain why. I think this drug is wonderful, and also a great discipline tool, i have really learned how to eat healthier, and when I crave junk food, It has helped me stay conscious of portion control. Everyone is different, some people may not have a tolerance for the drug itself.FYI, triglycerides go through the roof from smoking as well as constant stopping and starting of diet and exercise also. If you are thinking about using Alli to assist your diet and exercise (i get in about 2 hours a week, not much, but its something) program, take the time to read the literature, it makes things alot easier, o yeah, and you might want to keep an extra pair of panties around, just in case. Ive never had TE's, but, hey, s**t happens.

posted Apr 29th, 2008 7:50 pm


Karen

Anyone heard of Alli increasing triglyerides? Never had a problem until I started taking Alli, now they are through the roof!

posted Apr 21st, 2008 9:42 pm


islandgirl

I took alli for 2 weeks..The results were great. I am now down to my desired weight and I'm off alli for now. Got the result and happy for it. Treatment effects weren't fun but hey focus on the result!!!! I wouls recomend it...

posted Apr 17th, 2008 7:11 am


Veronica

I have been taking Alli for 2 weeks now and I have lost 3lbs. I am excited about it. The bathroom trips are real. I do not have a diet plan just watching what I eat. I can tell when I have had to much fat. So It does help you to make good food choices. I am goin to stay with Alli for at these 3 months to see if it works for me. So far so good...Good Luck to everyone.

posted Apr 16th, 2008 11:27 am


Tony

For some reason the pills didnt gave me the unpleacent side effects everyone talks about. However, I lost over a 100 pounds

posted Apr 16th, 2008 10:12 am


sean

I have been on alli for about 2.5 to 3 weeks now and it has been working for me. i went from 244 to 233 in a week. granted i lowered my fat intake and i am also taking a pill called Tight!. tight helps with hunger control. i am also working out 2 times a day. but it has been working well for me.

posted Apr 15th, 2008 2:26 pm


MARGE

I started Alli two weeks ago and so far I have only lost 3 lbs. which I guess is better than gaining 3 lbs, but I was hoping for a little better in that time frame. After reading some of you comments, I found out a lot of you only lost a little in the first few weeks, so I dont feel so bad. I stay well under the 1800 calories I am allowed for my 220 weight, usually between 800-1400 per day with fat grams well within range. A little more bathroom trips, but nothing I cant handle yet. I have trouble eating enough carbs or fiber according to the nutrician log I keep online. Did anyone else only lose a small amount in the first few weeks also? I just reordered, I started with the 90 day starter pack, and hope I did the right thing. My doctor is the one who suggested the product. I do have a 9mm thyroid nodule that they have ultrasounded 2 times and nuclear scanned, but they said all is okay. My thyroid tsh is within normal range, but my t3 and t47 are very low, also, my antibodies are high. Dont know for sure what all that means, but thought if anyone was medical that reads this they may know if it is having any influence on the slow weight loss. I wish good luck to all those taking Alli and if anyone has any helpful words I will check back occaisonally to see.

posted Apr 14th, 2008 11:30 am


Jerry

Alli is great, just work out, and use as directed. Perfect!

posted Apr 13th, 2008 9:42 pm


loser

Alli is not for everyone, that's for sure. I used Xenical a few years ago -- just double-dose Alli. If you are committed to losing, you will, whether you take Alli or not, but it is a nice little booster -- at least for me. When I've eaten too much fat, I would much prefer to see it in the toilet bowl than on my butt. And yes, you will see it in the bowl. As for the dreaded treatment effects, don't fart. I mean it. Just don't, unless you're on the toilet. If you can't control that, you'll probably want to wear a pantyliner. Will you gain the weight back if you stop? Yes, sure, if you go back to eating the way you did when you gained it to begin with. Alli won't lose the weight it for you. You have to make some lifestyle changes, too. Personally, I have no side effects from it at all, unless I've eaten something fatty, and get the oily stool, messy fart treatment effect. I've lost 25 lbs over three months, and I only take Alli when I'm eating something "extravagant". It lets me indulge without paying the full price -- except of course for the lovely TAs, but that's a price I'm happy to pay. Good luck to all.

posted Apr 9th, 2008 10:30 pm


lj

I think Alli is great; I've had no side effects other than being regular(once a day); I follow and keep to 15 fat grams/meal; been on it since 2/9/08 and lost about 15 lbs. Try it; I think some people are not consuming the low fat foods and thus having the side effects. I'm 55 and I think this pill is really helping me. I've been on every diet imaginable and this is the first one that has actually "helped" me. Please try it.

posted Apr 6th, 2008 9:13 pm


leigh

i started alli on 3/15/08 i have lost 14 1/2 pound so far i exercise 2-4 times a week its sure seems to be working for me,and the TE'S they r not that bad and they r worth it....

posted Apr 5th, 2008 3:58 pm


jwm

I am in my 50's and though I don't have a lot to lose, it has become increasingly difficult. Alli has been the only thing that has helped me. Even WeightWatchers didn't work, though taught me to eat better. I can deal with the bathroom problem. I also don't take Alli 3 times a day. Maybe that is helping with the extremes.

posted Apr 4th, 2008 3:54 pm


cindy

just started alli. keepin it a secreat from my husband,cause thats when they want to take you out to eat.. so far, not bad if you don't cheat. If you do, make sure you stay home,cause you will need some time in the bathroom.

posted Apr 3rd, 2008 2:25 pm


claudia

so i have been taking them for a couple weeks the dr says its not the Weight u loose BUT INCHES and yes i have lost 5inches off my waist in the past what 2 weeks and i have not excercised but i only eat once a day may be a tuna or ham and cheese cold sandwich or some soup and i snack on fruit. Don;t eat anything with grease because i assure you will go to the bathroom at least 3 times in like 30-40minutes

posted Apr 1st, 2008 10:04 am


Stephanie

I just started Alli lastnight--- i am going to the bathroom more, notice the feeling of needing the bathroom if I eat fatty foods, a slight headache--- other than that- everything is ok.. I hope it works. I'll keep you posted.

posted Mar 31st, 2008 7:31 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

PROPRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CONCON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Whats better than
Alli?