Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
Quick Weight Loss Centers

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

Top Rated Diets of 2020
QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2020?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PROPRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CONCON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet

How Does Quick Weight Loss Centers Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Quick Weight Loss Centers
  • /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 33, 649 total comments)

linda

the program is horrible. the suppliments are bad and give alot of health problems.plus the staf working is horrible. specially shahrukh in katy office

posted Mar 12th, 2012 9:43 pm


PCA

+

I have been on the diet for weeks and average 6 lbs a week myself. On this system I eat a more balanced diet with out all the prepackaged microwave meals on some diets. I eat enough to feel full but not bloated. It is a very sensible system that does work. I see some people who start the diet negative and this is why they don't lose weight. If you follow the rules it really teaches you to eat healthy. the supplements are pricey but they really help. the protein bars and puddings (let the pudding set for 20 minutes after you mix it) are awesome... they taste like you are cheating.

Ok, those who complain about the "nasty food".... learn how to cook.
I have no problem with creating delicious food from ingredients I buy from the store. Don't settle for the boring piece of chicken cooked in a microwave. spices are cheap, use them.

As for the bounce back of a low calorie diet..... you cant lose weight without cutting calories. even if you work out for 4 hours straight, you will gain weight if you eat a whole chocolate cake. you will just be a strong overweight person.

common sense is key as with anything else. Just follow the rules and you can lose the weight. the counselors are there to help you reach your goals.

posted Mar 5th, 2012 6:52 pm


Heather

There are pros and cons with this program, but overall I do like the program. I have lost 17 pounds in 6 weeks and I even went on a vacation to Disney World (losing 4 pounds that week). They keep telling me that I am not losing weight fast enough, even though I am averaging around 3 pounds a week... this can be rather discouraging, but at this point, I can care less about their guarantee because I feel that I am doing a great job and if my body does not lose weight as fast as others, then there is nothing I can do about it.



As far as the supplements, I do enjoy the caramel crunch bar the best and the puddings are fine. I can see myself having these in my pantry forever because they help me with my chocolate cravings. The starch snacks and cereals are not great. I am purchasing these items from a website called Nashua Nutrition and you can buy everything on this website that you can by at QWLC for a fraction of the price. The only difference is the name on the box, but SAME nutritional info!!! Just do comparisons.



As far as the Gold and the pill supplements, I just found everything on either Nashua Nutrition or AMAZON!! Amazon prices were so much cheaper!!



I know that QWLC is a business, but if I can find the SAME products elsewhere, I am going to buy them elsewhere!!



(FYI - around week 2, I discovered the Nashua Nutrition website and I printed out a few pages, brought it into the QWLC and showed it to the girl. She basically got mad at me and told me those are not their products!! It definitely has the same pictures on the box and the facts are the same. Then she proceeded to tell me that she would be disappointed in me if I bought them from that site. Well I do, and I save a lot of money and get free shipping when spending over $99.)



Anyway, this is a great program if you follow the basic food guidelines, but as far as how pushy some of the sales people are, I just have to ignore them and do this program the way that works best for me. Do not let people intimidate you.

posted Feb 22nd, 2012 3:30 pm


Mark

-

The Lab coated sales people go through everything so fast and say they are giving a discount but come to find out they charge everyone the same price. You have to buy their suppliments and the food you use for the diet. The food you use by the way is very boring and mostly tasteless and they expect you to be able to cook 5 times a day healthy meals. If i could do that i wouldnt need them. Its a complete scam i used nutrisystem and lost 60 pounds and i am going back they at least gave you the food to eat and didnt pretend to be something they are not. In closing i found the salespeople more interested in selling me the suppliments than caring how much i lost.

posted Jan 26th, 2012 6:47 am


Pam

Did anyone have any side effects from the supplements? I am on Platinum and feeling very dizzy and just not myself. I am not losing weight as fast as they say and I am following it to the letter.

HELP

posted Jan 14th, 2012 7:11 pm


Pam

Did anyone have any side effects from the supplements? I am on Platinum and feeling very dizzy and just not myself. I am not losing weight as fast as they say and I am following it to the letter.
HELP

posted Jan 14th, 2012 7:09 pm


did it

BOB--you couldn't be more wrong. I started last Jan 1. Lost my goal of 85lbs in a little less than 6 months. Because I hit certiain incentives along the way, I adjusted my goal to 100lbs with no changes in cost of the program and hit that about 4 weeks later. It's now 6 months into maintenance and I have not gained anything back (save for a pound or two at the holidays, which quickly went away when I started eating sensibly again).

The diet is sustaninable. They have a cookbook which allows for variety so its not boring either.

It wasn't easy to drop a hundred pounds but I never thought it would be as easy as it was on this program.

posted Jan 5th, 2012 8:08 pm


Bob

-

The big problem with this diet: It's not sustainable. Assuming you can afford the expensive supplements and are willing to give up some basic types of food: onion, pork, pasta, carrots, radishes, and bananas are examples of absolutely forbidden food. There are many more. Even zero calorie diet drinks are forbidden. If you slip and fall off the diet, they get you back on it by restricting the very meagre allowance of starch, ( two slices of 40 calorie bread is an example - they cut you down to one slice). At times they will put you on "plateau breakers" which amount ot eating a lot more protein and citrus for a day or two. Life will be miserable for you during these times. Your stomach will groan, you will find yourself thinking about what it would be like to have 1 slice of bacon with your eggs in the morning, or wishing you could enjoy a sandwich for lunch. The consultants you check in with do a reaonsable job of making sure you stay on the diet, but be prepared to be humiliated when you make a mistake.

Their radio ads are particularly deceptive. They make it sound easy, as if you can eat whatever you want and even eat out at restaurants. This is untrue. Attempting to eat out at a restaurant while on this diet equals eating lettuce with no salad dressing at all (unless you buy it from QWLC)... Which brings me to another objection - The only things not restricted are their holy products and supplements. You must always eat those. The reason is obvious - that's where they make the money.

In fairness, this program does work, and it does so fairly quickly, which is it's one saving grace. But it's not easy. If you are so overweight and so desperate that you are willing to give up a lot of foods for a few months, pay a lot of money and eat some expensive, nasty tasting diet foods, then this might work for you. But after you finish the stabilization program, you may well just fall back into weight gain.

There are other ways to lose weight. a proper diet and exercise are the best, of course, but If you get to the point where no others have worked, and/or you have no discipline, then this might be worth considering. But caveat emptor. They will pressure you and attempt to get as much money from you as possible. In order to lose a pound of flesh they will demand their pound of flesh.

posted Jan 3rd, 2012 4:29 pm


Bruce S

+

I have been on quick weight loss for about 6 weeks now. I have lost 30 lbs. so far. I started out at 256 lbs. My goal was 35 lbs. (220 lbs) but I still have about six weeks left so I may go for 210 lbs. which will give me 46 lbs off total. I have not had ant alcohol and have been pretty strict with the program. You will get out of the program what you put into it. If you cheat you probably won't get the results your looking for. It's too expensive to not follow the plan. They give you individual attention and keep you on track. It worked great for me.

posted Dec 30th, 2011 2:07 am


Cassie

+

I love this program, I lost 100 pounds in a year. I gained a lot of weight with my pregnacy and had to work really hard to lose it. This was more than a diet it was a lifestyle change. I would recommend this to anyone who is willing to do the work to get there.

posted Dec 29th, 2011 10:23 pm


Annalise

Okay, here's a boilerplate of the program:
PROS: going into your closet & fitting into all your clothes-Priceless!!!
2.Compliments, compliments, compliments!
3.Facing yourself in the mirror & smiling
4.Feeling good & empowered
5.Positive support from QWLC
6. QWLC supplement bars are decadently delish!
7. Exercise is optional
CONS: U need to be determined & disciplined
2.Plan the work & work the plan.Organizational skills are huge plus.
3.Prepare for emotional ups & downs.UR not going to lose every week.
4.Salt away b/t $900-1200 for this program. RU worth it???
Whatever U decide, good luck!!!



posted Dec 2nd, 2011 12:16 pm


RL

I've tried them all, WW, JC, NS, and QWL. The only one that really worked was QWL.The others are either expensive for what you get. Their food tastes bad, or is too little, or they offer little if any one on one help. I've had one plateau so far and they successfully helped me work through it. Anyone who complains about this plan is most likely a complainer anyway. Follow the plan and you will loose the weight...

posted Dec 1st, 2011 6:49 pm


Annalise

FYI-I paid no where near $2,500 -- not even half of that. I waited for a 20% off total program price sale & when the products go on special, I buy. Also, my friend who recommended me got a $50 certificate towards products. The program, foods, pills, supplements cost just under $1,000 for me. Also, it covers me for 52 wks. Anyone who seriously believes they're going to lose 30 lbs. for $30 is diluting themselves. They'd be out of business if everyone only had to pay $30. QWLC has been in business for over 33 years. If you demonstrate seriousness & apply yourself, they will work with you, but this is NOT a program for sissies/whiners.

posted Nov 30th, 2011 11:32 pm


KATHERINE SALTER

-

THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS, JUST WANT YOUR MONEY. DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR HEALTH OR YOUR WEIGHT LOSS. THEY TRICK YOU INTO A $30 FOR 30LBS. HA.. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THEIR PROPAGANDA.; THEY WILL SOAK YOU FOR $2500 BEFORE YOU KNOW IT. A TOTAL RIPOFF.

posted Nov 30th, 2011 1:27 pm


Annalise

+

I joined QWLC August 1,2011 with a very realistic goal of losing 40 lbs. Since then,I have lost 38 lbs. Overall, I am very pleased with my progress & the program. I followed it faithfully with a few slips (glass of wine here & there) & got stellar results. In the beginning, I was so heavy I could not exercise because it was too painful. Now, I ride a bike 5-7 miles & do zumba. I found the clinicians to be very helpful & they guided & supported me all the way. QWLC is not generous, but their work ethics are fair. After all, they're in business to make a profit. I found the bars & shakes to be delish! The pills & metabolizers didn't bother me. I'm not thin but I fit into my clothes now & I'm alot more active.I set a very realistic goal & I am pleased with the results. QWLC will support whatever goal you choose for yourself. They are not judgemental. This program is designed to knock the weight off in a short amount of time if you are willing to seriously apply yourself. I kept telling myself it's not forever, but I really did miss that turkey w/stuffing sandwich & mayo this year! LOL. Wud I trade it for the old me? Not in a million years!When U work this hard, U acquire a new self-respect & it is reinforced by the people at QWLC. They love to give pats on the back & compliments! It's not cheap but I cannot put a price on good health. If I hadn't spent it there, it would've gone (& more probably) to the doctors for obesity-related illnesses because I was definately headed down that road.

posted Nov 29th, 2011 11:53 pm


beth

-

They are a rip off - and they will charge your card multiple times just to make money = and don't bother to contact their corporate, they're just as nasty

posted Nov 15th, 2011 5:21 pm


Susan

+

This is a diet that does work, but you have to make a decision to really stick to it and follow what they tell you. I did that and lost 87 lbs so far. I never thought I would be back in a size 6P, but here I am, and it has changed my life. I was never hungry and loved the bars and pudding, hot cocoa and BBQ chips. Ate real food for meals and don't miss the other stuff I ate to get where I was before.

posted Nov 3rd, 2011 12:10 am


Jessica L

+

MARYM - Just go back to the QWL Center & ask for help. They'll tailor your plan to compensate...That's what you paid them for :-) Most likely, they'll have you do a 2 day restart (Basically 2 days similar to your initial 3 Day Prep)

posted Oct 29th, 2011 12:02 pm


Jessica L

+

I'm 31, my Goal was to lose 60 lbs & so far & lost 20 lbs in 6 weeks. I've tried Weight Watchers in the past, but I found that it wasnt strick enough..too much room for error. QWL is a very structured plan w/little room to make the wrong choices. I find the one-on-one counseling to be way more effective than Weight Watcher Group meetings, because as you lose or gain, the QWL counselors readjust your meal plan accordingly. They have plateau breakers to get you thru the rough patches. 2 THUMBS UP FOR QWL

posted Oct 29th, 2011 11:24 am


Anita

I did this program years ago after I gained 30 pounds during my first grueling year of law school. At the time, I was a fiercely disciplined law student, so I followed the plan perfectly and lost 40 lbs. in 4 months. I did not pay for the maintenance plan. Fast forward 10 years to 2011 and my less-disciplined self, needing to lose about 50 lbs. after sedentary jobs, and in the past year, the death of a parent and a battle with breast cancer. This plan works if you follow it. HOWEVER, I have tried enough plans (including plain-old diet modification and hitting the gym hard, which also works), to be wiser about a few things. I use my regular vitamins, my own fish oil pills (instead of their EFA's), my regular vitamin C and D. I buy my yummy protein bars and drinks in bulk from Sam's or Costco for a fraction of the QWLC product prices (just compare the nutrition labels). When they ask me if I need to buy anything, I just smile and say, "Nope, I'm good!" I came back to QWLC because I am one of those folks that need to weigh in and be held accountable for my diet. I lost 11 lbs during the 3-day prep without their supplements. The 80 oz of water is not optional if you want max results. I hate to weigh in without a loss! If you follow the meal plan, you will lose the weight. I do 1 hour of cardio at the gym about 4 days per week - I'll need to switch out one or 2 of those days for light weights. In law school, I didn't work out on the plan; I lost 40 lbs, but I was "soft." The reason working out is not encouraged is beacuse you'll naturally have an increased appetite after a good workout. On workout days, I drink a protien shot (Sam's or WalMart) and I might have an extra small apple. You can be successful on this plan without breaking the bank. Trust me.

posted Sep 3rd, 2011 8:34 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



Whats better than
Quick Weight Loss Centers?