Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
Quick Weight Loss Centers

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

Top Rated Diets of 2020
QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2020?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PROPRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CONCON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet

How Does Quick Weight Loss Centers Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Quick Weight Loss Centers
  • /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 33, 649 total comments)

Amanda

Ok so I got the diet book from my mil but I have a few questions about the diet. I kinda feel like I am starving! My MIL said that I need to do Plan 2 which is:
2 Proteins
4 Veg
2 Fruit
2 Starches
1 Fat Serving
2 Quick Snacks
4 oz. Skim Milk
80 oz. water
Plus the drinks and pills.

Is there something missing. Should I be eatting breakfast with eggs. Are there anything that I should add. I am kinda lost and she doesn't really remember and she is doing both QWL and WW.
Please let me know what I am doing.
l*i*t*l*m*o*o at yahoo dot com.
Thanks

posted Apr 16th, 2011 2:21 am


Lynn LaPrade

I like the diet and I have found alot of the items on line.

posted Apr 13th, 2011 2:07 pm


Jennifer

This isn't a review of the product or system; this is a review of the consultation. I am writing it because, if I had known these facts before hand, I wouldn't have wasted an hour and a half of my day. I have absolutely no idea if this program works and I must admit that, if I had the money, I would be willing to try it. I just want to help others out by letting you know about the program and its costs. First, the sales consultant was very friendly and seemed interested in really helping me to lose wait, I'm sure that she is a good person, but all they appear to be are SALES PEOPLE. They take your measurements and ask you a lot of personal information, everything from health history, to your favorite actives and why you want to loose weight. While this may seem like a nice way to really get to know you and your personal needs, they use the information you give them to push the sale at the end of the meeting. After taking your measurement, she left me in the room for a few minutes to go "calculate" what it would take to lose 25 pounds; she came back with a sheet and a manager who sat in the back of the room. This made me feel a little awkward, in a small room with two sales people and a closed door, but I stayed to see what she had to say. So, she went over a scripted (yes they actually read from a script) PowerPoint presentation where they tell you about how the program works (basically its a 3 step program over a year or so - guess that depends on how much you have to lose- You start with a meal plan to follow for a few immediate weeks to lose the weight followed by a transition period and then a maintenance period.) They also tell you about each and everyone of the supplements that you will be taking. For me, they said I could lose 25 pounds in an 8 week loss program, followed by a 6 week transition program and then 38 weeks of maintenance (where you weigh in once a week and they make sure you don't gain back the weight you lost.) I can't say this price would be for everyone, since I was only on an 8 week loss program for 25 pounds, but it was $610 for the full year (all the weeks combined) of service and "almost" (I'll go into that in a minute) one month's of supplements to get you started. That in itself would have been okay with me, it's about the same a gym membership, so I was fine, but the problem with the SALES people is they try to make you pay up and get signed in believing that you are only paying that much money. When she gave me the total, I noticed at the very bottom of the contract there is a list (in small print which they don't point out to you) that listed the prices of the supplements. I HAD TO ASK about the additional supplements that you had to purchase every month and then add up the total by myself! Please forgive me as they didn't give me any papers with all this info to take home, but there was a carb blocker, tea, vitamins, omega oils, and a whole bunch of other stuff. Most of the supplements were in 30 day supplies but there were two that came in 13 day supplies (try to figure that one out - I can understand 7, 10 or even 15, but a 13 day supply?) So, like I said, they didn't have any pricing sheets or anything with cost information to take with me. I didn't get a chance to match the names with prices but I took the scratch paper I had to borrow to write down and add up the individual prices, so here they are: There are four 30 day supplements and the prices are $140.00, $15.00, $25.00 and $17.00. The two supplements in 13 day packs are $40.00 and $26.00. Plus the snack packs are $17.00 each for a week's work of one per day, since you are supposed to eat two snacks a day it's about $34.00 per week or $136.00 per month. So the grand total just for supplements? $400 before tax (and that's with only purchasing the 13 packs twice a month). So this is why I wanted to write this review. So my $610 would have covered the year of service plus one pack of each item to get me started. This is why I said earlier "almost a month's worth" I would only get 1 each of the $13 packs and 1 weeks worth of snacks, so I still would have to shell out more money in a week for snacks and a second set of 13 day supplements. So here is my conclusion: If you can afford $610 per year and $400 PER MONTH for supplements, then go for it. I'm not going to try and tell people to stay away; all the reviews of the program itself say they work. I am only trying to say that, if you want to go in for a consultation, be prepared to pay up before you leave!

posted Apr 7th, 2011 4:51 pm


Jeannie

+

I read so much feedback here about QWLC only being concerned about the prfot, using unscrupulous sales tactics, etc, that I waited to join. WHAT A MISTAKE! This program WORKS! It's not cheap. I had 90 pounds to lose and paid $600 for a year's worth of services and about $400 (later) in supplements and foods. However, when you MAKE THE COMMITMENT to lose weight, nothing beats this. I was never hungry. In fact, some days I felt like I had to eat too much food. I lost 5.4 pounds in week 1, 4 lbs in weeks 2-5, and have maintained a steady 3 lb weight loss ever since. If you want warm and fuzzy staff members, go to Weight Watchers....I did find the staff at QWLC to be a bit clinical...but WHO CARES?!? You're not there to make friends. The program works!

posted Mar 31st, 2011 9:42 pm


Dolly

BE Prepared for a HARD SALE, then if you join, you are in and out like cattle. Now,they got your money and will keep after you to buy more and more of there products that you don't even need to lose the weight. If you don't like a flavor of something you bought they will not let you return it ( NO RETURNS AND NO EXCHANGES)
If you like to eat chicken and melba toast, you will love the diet, otherwise go somewhere else to help you loss the weight. (Just Saying)

posted Mar 30th, 2011 1:55 pm


Rachael

I lost 7 pounds the first week and 2 pounds a week for the three weeks after. I only followed the plan about 1/2 the time. I am not a meat eater and eating that much meat just isn't working for me. I have TONS of products and supplements I would like to sell for a good deal. Please email me at [email protected] I have about 4 months worth.

posted Mar 24th, 2011 10:26 am



Stacey Graham

It IS pricey, but it works. I started it at 270 pounds last year before my cancer diagnosis. I went off of it for six months to recover, and have re-started it. I now weigh 233. I have the money, and it is worth it to me to spend it on my health. I feel wonderful.



Sure, you have to pre-measure. Sure, you have to go in and be accountable. Sure, if you don't follow the plan, why would they ever honor your warranty? You have to do what you're told or stay fat. Period. If weight loss were easy, you wouldn't have needed their help to begin with.



Quit whining, work your program, and reap the rewards!

posted Mar 20th, 2011 1:06 pm


lesia

I am on day 2 of prep and am feeling bored Any advice?

posted Mar 15th, 2011 7:41 pm


Ken

I'm on day #42 and I've lost a total of 27.5 lbs so far. My goal is to lose 65lbs and I'm just 5lbs shy of the halfway mark of my goal. Come on folks...IT WORKS!

posted Mar 15th, 2011 2:09 pm



Susan Springer Kelly

+

I read a lot of and moaning in here about measuring food, not sticking to the plan and then not losing weight and so on. I joined on Dec 8th and decided to really follow exactly what they told me to do. It was the having the support of the counselors that has really helped me. I was very skeptical at first, but had a friend who started 3 months earlier and had lost 40 lbs so far, so decided to do it. I have not cheated, have done my best to follow all the things they tell me and the different breaks they put me on. Sure, I miss a fruit here or there with my busy work schedule, but I was at an all time high weight-wise back in December and decided I needed to stop making excuses and do something. This was the last straw so I really committed myself to doing it right. I have lost 42 pounds so far! I am really excited about that and looking forward to reaching my goal weight on time in June. I had a lot to lose, and don't know if I would ever have done it on my own. This is what worked for me. I was never hungry, loved what I ate and loved meeting with the counselors to talk about my progress and plateaus. More power to those that can lose the weight cheaper and on their own, but if you can....why are you searching for answers in here?
To those that keep looking for a cheap way to do it, start walking and eat less. I have spent some real money on the plan, but to me, it is worth it. I am much more healthy, no more indigestion and sleep better at night. It is so nice to go clothes shopping and like what I see, and it is getting better every week. BTW, my friend? She has lost 70 pounds since September. The plan works IF you do it the right way.

posted Mar 13th, 2011 4:27 pm


lesia

I have just joined the QWL on line program. I am in the prep phase but would like to do this for more than the three days. Can anyone offer me advice on this. I want to loos 30 pounds by 5/1. Any tips for me.

posted Mar 12th, 2011 4:09 pm


Elisa

-

First off, I was told that there was no premeasuring. They wait until the 3 day contract cancellation clause had expired before they have their nutrient class. So you are stuck and I paid 1000.00 up front. At the class, everyone in there said, I was told no premeasuring food and now we have to go buy a scale. Okay, so I did good, 12 weeks, 20 pounds, I look better than I did in a long time, but when they calculated my weight loss, I wanted to loose 40 pounds and they said it would take 13 weeks. I didn't panic because they had a guarentee, right? WRONG! So now I am on week 12 and they said I could buy more weeks. The guarentee is not valid because I went off the plan for 3 days since I had an emergency out of state, or that a missed a fruit one day, REALLY? I was honest and that killed me. I had never lost per week that they said I would loose, but I did loose 2 pounds per week continuously, so me missing a fruit here or there, did not cause any issues. So when the counselor signed me up, with thyroid issues known, how did she know how much my body was going to lose? Do not do this plan, find someone who did and ask for a copy of the papers, the plans. Go on line and by the supplements, they are cheaper and do not go into the snotty centers, who after they take your money, don't tell you anything else, like "oh you missed a fruit here, be careful, this could void the warranty" They only tell you when it is almost over.

posted Mar 9th, 2011 9:45 pm


kittee

Having done QWLC's plan both with the center help (the first time) and without (the second time), I can say that the plan does work well either way when followed. The only difference, as mentioned by some folks here, is the accountability. What it comes down to is if you have the self-control to follow the plan on your own if you don't want to pay the center costs.

Please understand that I am in no way being critical of those who need the daily/weekly consultation and/or have financial considerations. Although I experienced some success on my own, it was MUCH easier and more effective when I had to "answer to someone", and for me, the cost justified that extra motivation. You mileage may vary.

Having read the pages of comments here, I saw several that said, "Can someone email me the 3-day start, the plan, the foods, the websites..." and/or asking basic questions that have been discussed several times and so forth. Seriously? To those people: Get off your a++ and read through to find the information you want! If you are too lazy to do that, you might want to rethink starting a plan like QWLC.

posted Mar 5th, 2011 1:07 pm


Sonya Arndt

There are huge hidden costs they don't disclose until you're ready to sign a contract. They advertise, 30 lbs for 30 dollars. Not that is highly misleading! For A 20 lb. weight loss, the true cost is 637.00, then they will not guarantee your weight loss unless you buy there products. They tell you, you get them "at cost" when you buy them all at once.....which is $932.00, regular price THEY say is 1,632.00. Now this is all for a 20 lb. loss. They are absolute cons, so do yourself a favor, quit using salt on your food, drink alot of water, cut your portions in half, stay away from starches, and you will have the same results as I did, and have $600.00 more in your pocket at the end of the day. I am very disappointed how this company prays on people desperate to shed weight.

posted Mar 5th, 2011 12:25 pm


CatCameBack

About the plan--it works if you work it. Having done this diet with and without the center help, my experience was that it works either way--the difference is your personal level of self-control. It IS harder on your own, so success depends on how much help you need to stay on the plan.

Please note that I am not criticizing anyone needing the daily/weekly counseling to stay on track. I'm right there with you--accountability is a great motivator for me, too! :) I obviously have some self-control issues with food, or I wouldn't be here writing this!

Anyway, that's my opinion. One more thing--there are a lot of posts here like this: "Can someone please email me the plan, sites, instructions, all the information...". Seriously? IT'S ALL ALREADY POSTED HERE. Get off your a++ and read the information and get it yourself! Good luck following a diet like this if your are already too lazy to do a little research! (Rant over.)

Much success to all who pursue it!

posted Mar 5th, 2011 8:03 am


Jen

Any suggestions? Been on the diet almost 2 wks. Lost 8 lbs.. then I have gain 1lb back and now nothing for 4 days.. And I didn't even cheat...

posted Mar 3rd, 2011 8:23 am


pattycake

Can someone please send the Water flush
and Protein Break aspect of DQWL

posted Feb 26th, 2011 7:37 pm


Kris

Well my experience with QWLC is mixed. I went to the Pearland location in TX and the first time that I scheduled a visit, I flaked and didn't show up. Of course they had my info and bugged the heck out of me for a month or so. I set up a payment plan on the $600 plan and paid $50. I stopped going in after like a month and then they called and said they had a "special": $199 for 10 weeks of weight loss (included vitamins, herb supplement, a box of shakes, and maybe 1 or 2 other things), NO stabilization or maintenance. They tried to sell those 2 components to me for an additional few hundred dollars (which I declined because I was skeptical). They also told me I couldn't lose my goal in the 10 weeks, so they suggested I buy more weeks up front because they would cost more later. I told them I'd risk it, and buy later IF I wasn't pleased with my loss and wanted more. A friend of mine paid the $600 and bought all the food supp. so I just took it slow after hearing her bad experience. She got really sick from the supplements, so I was leery of them. Anyways I paid $50 first (which I intended to just count as a loss and never go back) then came back a few weeks later (after they called and pleaded with me, and offered me the "special") and paid $149 and got the Detox plan, set up my nutrition appointment and take home the supp. included with my "special". I did OK the first day with detox and then blew it off the next day and day after. I lost 2 lbs. and asked should I restart it. My consultant, Priscilla, told me I didn't need to worry about it when I came in for my "nutritional class" and got my plan and booklet. I didn't really learn anything, but I bought a couple of other supp. (Nacho Cheese Pasta, Hot Chocolate, Cheerio-type Sour Cream and Onion snacks, and maybe a box of shakes?) which I never ate except the O snacks which were pretty tasty and filling since u get a bag.

They were RIDICULOUSLY priced and I made up excuses to avoid going in and I dodged their "courtesy calls" because I knew they just wanted to push supp. on me.

Eventually I fell off and never started again. The plan IS doable, but you have to sacrifice just like any other healthy lifestyle. You can't just eat whatever and expect results - no bueno. I wasn't serious when I went in, so I blew it off. I'm thinking about starting again. I found my book and info sheet last weekend and am thinking about doing it sans most of the supp. (except EFAs & multi-vitamins, might purchase some of those O snacks!)

Also, for those who want to know what you do in the plan - take some time to go thru the older posts/reviews. People have actually posted the diet/rules in FULL, you just have to search for them by going thru the pages.

I'm glad I didn't shell out more than about $300 (weight loss and supp.) total. I simply couldn't afford it and only bought what I wanted to buy. I didn't let them hassle me and when they bugged me I just ignored them and stopped going in. I didn't care about the guarantee, I just wanted peace. They will only pressure the folks that don't stand up to them, they were nice to me all the time because I pretty much came in, took care of my biz, and walked out. I didn't answer their calls or call them back. If you are going to do QWLC, be smart and stand firm with them! After all, they're just salespeople in scrubs!

posted Feb 24th, 2011 12:55 am


Jan

-

With a goal of losing 75 lbs., I was told I'd have to pay $838 up front. Seemed like a hard sell. It would be extra for all the supplements. If I had been offered a plan to pay monthly or weekly, I may not have walked out. Looked like Atkins, with a little fruit and grains. I guess the portion controls off-set those carbs. Think I'll just go back to Atkins. It works and i can buy my own carb blockers, vitamins and essential fatty acids.

posted Feb 19th, 2011 10:58 am


Lola

?

I was thinking of using this diet but am curious about how much money it will cost and whether it is worth it?

posted Feb 17th, 2011 3:16 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



Whats better than
Quick Weight Loss Centers?