Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
Quick Weight Loss Centers

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

Top Rated Diets of 2020
QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2020?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PROPRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CONCON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet

How Does Quick Weight Loss Centers Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Quick Weight Loss Centers
  • /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 33, 649 total comments)

JimBob

+

Hello again all. It will be 2 months I've been on the program next week (including 5 days on the Preparation Phase). I've lost 21 pounds. Goal is 30 pounds. I'm doing the home version, which I consider worth the money. $450 for the first 6 weeks; $418 for each 6 week renewal. Carb blockers are $80 for a 2 month supply but Quick Weight Loss Center says they aren't necessary. I bought them anyway because I like carbs and want quick results. I've also been doing strength training with weights combined with cardio 3 times a week. Relative long workouts = 1 1/2 - 2 hours each.

I've bought protein bars and such from Bariatric Center, which is a lower cost than QWLC. But, I can't seem to find the Gold Xtreme hoodia product anwyere. At $135/bottle it is pricey. It also contains more than just hoodia and I've tried to recreate the "cocktail" of supplements by buying the individual supplements online.

Has anyone found the Gold Xtreme at a lower price????

Good luck to all.

posted May 15th, 2010 12:46 pm


Stephanie

Can anyone tell me where I can get the permitted food and measurements online. I am ordering the supplements online and I have the breakdown of protein, starch, fruit, vegetable, and fat servings.

posted May 12th, 2010 10:48 pm


Zafar

Thank you Kerry. You just saved a bundle of money for me. I noticed they only have EFA . Now where can I find other Carb blocker and other nutrients?

posted May 12th, 2010 6:22 pm


Kerry

Check out family bariatric. This week I purchased EFA's, bars, smootie and hot cocoa mixes so much cheaper...only $15 for EFA's and $6.79 a box for others ....buy at least 8....you can mix and match items.....and on their home page is a online discount code. I got my order within a few days.

posted May 7th, 2010 12:27 am


vivd

+

So far, it's a good program. It's pretty pricey, but I think it's been worth the money. Once you get over the price shock, you are good to go. And everyone's pricing is different. It depends on how many lbs you want to lose and how long it will take you to lose that amount of weight on their program. So the less weight, the less you pay.

The girls at the center I go to are very sweet and give you tips when you need it. The most important thing you need to remember is that you should get your money's worth. A lot of people sign onto the program and seem shy or uncomfortable and don't come in regularly for their weigh-in. Yes, it's a hassle, but it makes you feel more comfortable with them. You are paying for their service, so USE IT!!! They're there to answer any of your questions, problems, etc.

And so far they've given me some good tips on how I can still stick to the program even when it seems impossible. I knew that I was going to go out and couldn't avoid the occasion (it was my birthday), so I asked them what kind of alcohol beverage I should or shouldn't drink, and tips on dining out. And they were able to give me pointers and a dining out guide.

So far, I'm only on week 2 and lost 3.5 lbs. I'm really petite and signed on to lose only 15 lbs. (the 6 week program). I know I must sound crazy to some of you who are trying to lose a lot more weight than that, but it's what is working for me. I work out about 5 times a week, and they are fine with that. My advisors actually like the fact that I am working out. The reason I joined is because I've tried everything I could think of in order to lose those stubborn lbs and it's much harder when you are at a plateau. So, for someone who is trying to lose 50 lbs, it will take that person 1/2 - 1/4 of the time to lose 5 lbs that it will take someone like me trying to lose 15 lbs.

When you are on their program and are at a constant weight for a few days, they will tell you that you need a plateau breaker, and then you change up your plans a little bit and hopefully lose again. I haven't had to try that yet, so I'm not exactly sure how that part works. BUT that's how they switch things up so that you will lose your weight. Also, at the center I am going to, they had a special running that if you came in to the center to weigh-in at least 4 times that week, then you'll get a week free. :) I am going to get my free week just in case.

Another thing that was made clear to me (in my nutrition class) was that if you follow their plan, and you do not reach your goal weight in the amount of time that they proposed to you, then they will give you the certain amount of weeks that you need in order to reach that weight for free. So be sure to ask the center you are thinking of signing up at if they have this same guarantee. The supplements that they sell are not required, i don't think, but it makes following their plan much easier. If the prices scare you, you can get the quick snacks cheaper at www.nashuanutrition.com. Click on Health Smart. Or you can try www.familybariatric.com, which is ever CHEAPER! The supplements, I heard, can be purchased from Diet Direct.

I hope this helps!

posted Apr 29th, 2010 4:28 pm


Shaena10

-

One more thing that I think alot of people should understand about quick weight loss...I was looking through the reviews and I noticed someone stated how quick weight loss doesn't encourage excercise. That's very true... they don't. As a matter of fact, they'll tell you not to do heavy excercise because it interfered with weighing, I think. Don't you know what that means??? It means that everyone who has lost weight from quick weight loss center will gain it all back if they do not excercise daily. Most of those who join already don't like excercise, and it turns out they gaiin all their weight back. So if you don't like it now, start gettig used to it once you drop that weight or else you'll be right back where you started.

posted Apr 27th, 2010 6:06 pm


Kerry

+

I've lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks. I have alot more to go, but I am confident if I keep showing up to the center and following the plan, I will loose the weight. I love the protein supplement bars, chicken soup, hot cocoa, etc. though they are expensive, but I would spend just as much each week at the supermarket on cakes, cookies and chips so I don't mind spending the money to get healthier.

posted Apr 27th, 2010 3:35 pm


Shaena10

-

Don't waste your money. I was on this plan a year ago. 4 months later I stopped going and went on my own diet. The quick weight loss diet sucks. You can't eat the things you like at all, many that are actually good for you. You can't have beans, which I find strange because it has so much fiber and that will lose you lots of weight. You can't have carrots, tilapia, peaches,plums,corn, orange juice, bananas or any kinds of healthy fruit juices.Did it ever occur to them that many of these we cant have are nutritional? You can only have seafood and beef a couple of times a week, tuna once a week, no pasta, no fat free soup,unless it's their nasty supplement kind. The only meat you can eat everyday is chicken and turkey. I starved on this diet. It's too restricted and that's what will make gain more weight because you will be too hungry. You should be able to eat many things on a diet, as long as it's less amount and low in fat. You can't even have a sanchwich with fat free deli meat. They don't allow deli meats.

And by the way... All of those pills and protein supplements they give you is bs...get your own from GNC or the vitamin store. They have a larger amount of
minerals an is way better.

I really regret giving quick weight loss my $698,plus hundreds more that I spent on groceries and their supplements, when their diet is something you can do yourself at home. And the first few days at quick weight loss is easy because you lose Water weight those first few day. But after that you'll find that your losing little or no weight each week, so don't get too excited.

By the way, you can buy their exact same protein supplements from dietdirect.com a tad bit cheaper.

It's funny how quick weight loss fools you into thinkig their supplemts are their very own when it's being sold somewhere else.

posted Apr 27th, 2010 1:48 pm


drdrewdog

+

I have been doing the deal for 5 1/2 weeks and have lost 25# (15 to go). Have had a couple of times where I cheated, although it was more like "I'm stuck at a community breakfast so I'll eat tiny portions of stuff that's forbidden." The counselors have understood--just told me to get back on the plan and make adjustments as needed. I have not consistently used ALL of the supplements every day. My real problem has been getting in the water on days when I have to be in meetings for hours at a time, or simply not getting enough food in a day.

I have not been hungry, much, and have at the very least learned what ideal portion size needs to look like if I am to stay trim after I'm done with the "loss" phase. There is definitely food that I miss, but I even have tossed out biscuits that come with "allowed" foods.

As another respondent stated, it's expensive, but that motivates me. I would recommend it for folks who have to lose more than 20#, although it's worth seeing if your insurance would pay for a nutrition consult... might save some money.

I'll update when I'm done!

posted Apr 27th, 2010 1:11 pm


Losing it ;o)

started QWLC a week ago, lost 8.2 ilb. Very Excited! is there anyone who knows where you could get the supplement bars online? They are so expensive on in the centers and they really make you feel like you HAVE to buy them there.



BTW, I found their Gourmet Mists in Bed Bath and Beyond for 7.99 !

posted Apr 25th, 2010 11:18 pm


ready2lose

+

This week was really bad for me. I just started my new job at the Olive Garden. So they made us try everything on the menu over a 5 day period. I really let my self down . I did so good over the weekend and on Monday , but then Tuesday came and I was back off my diet. It sucks cus they wouldn't let us bring in bags or lunch kits. I like quick weight loss but I haven't been true to the diet.

posted Apr 24th, 2010 7:11 pm user comment


Eva Gordon

+

It's expensive, but the cost factor is what is making me stick to the program. I don't want to waste my $.. I would never comply with the structure of the program on my own. I started one week ago. I dropped 7 lbs. I am committed, finally. I believe this program will change my life. My friend lost 60 lbs one year ago and has kept it off. I hope for similar results. Good luck to all of you.

posted Apr 24th, 2010 1:10 pm


Sweetheart

I lost 6lbbs during the first 3 days, but I have only lost half a pound since, but Im only in the third week. Is this normal? What should I do? Im getting frustrated, but dont want to give up completely.

posted Apr 20th, 2010 1:56 pm


ready2lose

+

Ok I went today and down a half pound. It's still better than gaining. I did really good over the weekend since the weekend is the worst for me. I feel amazing good luck to everyone out there. Remember we are all in this diet together. For every pound you lose its another day added back to your life!!!!!!!! God bless!

posted Apr 19th, 2010 6:16 pm user comment


john

Food addiction is a serious condition with many adverse health & social consequences. Obesity, psychological disorders, diabetes, and gastric anomalies are just a few.

The first step to recovery is, of course, the realization and acceptance of the problem. Medically, individuals must natural foods to enjoy long-term and to satisfy their cravings.

There is no easy way to combat food addiction; it will require intense discipline in modifying eating patterns and lifestyle. A manageable exercise program should be embraced along with dietary changes that may be maintained. Ambitious attempts to change eating patterns abruptly or to lose weight quickly rarely have long-term success. Help is need for support.

The physiological and psychological dependency of food can best be broken when the individual recognizes that they are powerless to combat it alone.

Pay the price to learn to change your lifestyle if you plan to stay with the plan and not return to processed foods that got us fat. I'm down 97 in 24 weeks & have 45 to go in 16 to 20 weeks - Now, to keep it off - It makes a Big Difference in many parts of my life & I don't want to turn back. Many gain it all back in 2-3 years, so good luck to all of you. The couselors can only do so much, but let them provide the assistance they can do and share their experience with us all. If we could do it on our own, it would have been done long ago, right?

posted Apr 16th, 2010 2:44 pm


Sweetheart

I am currently in my second week and have lost about 7 lbs. I am very nervous about having spent such large amount of money and may or may not lose the weight. I paid $407 up-front and will be debited another $180 in a couple of weeks. I think I want to cancel the check for the second part, but I wanna make sure that they will let me exhaust the $407 that I already paid. Will they let me do that?

posted Apr 13th, 2010 11:16 pm


Cory

+

I loved this program! I lost 56 pounds all together. The first 35-40 pounds were easy. I was losing 5-6 pounds per week. But the last 15 lbs were the HARDEST for me. I reduced down to 2-3 lbs per week which is still good, but still would have preferred the 5-6 to be done with it already. But I made my goal! I went through the Stabilization Phase too. Its easy. All it is just to SLOWLY reintroduce more food back to your body that you so drastically took from it. For example, in week one you get an extra serving of protein and in week 2, you get an extra serving of starch along with the serving of protein you got in week 1 of stab, etc. But its up to you to monitor yourself and check to see how much you are eating and if you are increasing in weight. So even though you are allowed the extra food servings, you do not have to eat ALL of the food that has been allowed back into your diet. I lost my weight and maintained it for 10 months. I gained 20 lbs back during the whole holiday season last year.







A common problem is that you have to remember to maintain the proper eating habits that quick weight loss center has taught you. Really limit your fried foods, deserts and any other food that may be high in fat and calories. And if you do decide to eat, work out!... work those extra calories off if you decide to be irresponsible and eat something that you know very well will cause you to gain weight. But lets face, the majority of us who ended up at the quick weight loss center hated working out!...lol. So its all about changing your lifestyle. Otherwise you will be right back where you left off...which is what happens to most fall.







I went back on the diet 3 weeks ago and I have lost 12 pounds. I have even cheated a few times, but I still seem to be shedding the pounds. Just a few more weeks left to go... Gosh if I don't cheat... Im know I could be done already. But I really recommend the diet. Its been the only diet I found that works for me since I have a very non active job that demands around 60-70 hours a week from me. I see it as if I cant make it to the gym, I can at least control what I eat (with enough willpower). I sure if you're like me, this will work for you too. There is no way you can not lose weight on this diet if you just follow it as directed...

posted Apr 13th, 2010 5:12 pm


JT

I've have been on the program since March 10 when I weighed in at 442 lbs. My last time in the office was April 9th and I was already at 400 lbs even.

I also do about 45 min of cardio 4-5 days a week. I defintely cheat here and there. A few crackers, small piece of birthday cake, diner roll etc... But I haven't had any big set backs like a double cheeseburger and large fries.

So far so good. I do have a question for other members of the program. Do you still take all the supplements and pills. I stopped with the EFA's two weeks ago and may cut the others out soon. Any one else?

posted Apr 13th, 2010 3:08 pm


Kiki

+

I was in the program back in 2008. The program is very expensive, but it works! I lost 32 lbs in 32 weeks and I had to leave the program because I wasn't ready to go to the maintenance phase and I was certainly not going to pay extra to extend my weight loss phase. So, I continued to followed the program on my own and lost 8 lbs. I definitely recommend this program!

posted Apr 12th, 2010 11:38 am


JimBob

+

I'm curious. I'm in the weight loss phase. Has anyone made it to the maintenance phase (after weight loss). What is that program like.

I'm down 12 pounds in 3 weeks, adhering pretty strictly but lapsing a little bit on weekends.

posted Apr 11th, 2010 2:01 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



Whats better than
Quick Weight Loss Centers?