Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
Quick Weight Loss Centers

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

Top Rated Diets of 2020
QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2020?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PROPRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CONCON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet

How Does Quick Weight Loss Centers Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Quick Weight Loss Centers
  • /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 33, 649 total comments)

rienzirussell

-

I have to give this program a thumbs-down. I started in on May 1 and it is now November 14, and I have lost 50 pounds. Yes, it works, but it is unbelieveably expensive and restrictive. I have given up all fried foods, all sugar, all salt (except 1/4 tsp of lite salt/day), all alcohol, almost all carbs...

After the first round of supplements, which I bought from QWLC, I found them all on-line and purchased them there where they are, in some cases, less than 50% of the cost. For example, QWLC charges $35 for a box of meal replacements (contains 7 drink mixes), and I got the same thing online for $14.99 - what a markup!

I also give this diet low marks because you have to cook every meal, which is why started the meal replacements as I get home late from work, and do not feel like cooking. They only allow meal replacements 3 times/wk, but non of the counselors could tell me why you can't have them 7 days/wk. They could also not tell me why you are only allowed 3 pkts of artificial sweetner, or 2 cans of diet soda (even tho there are no calories). They just said because the science says so.

You are required to keep a food diary, and if you have lost weight for the week, they don't even look at your diary, and if you haven't lost, they go over it with a fine-tooth comb looking for deviations...not to see why you didn't lose weight, but so they can note it on your file, so you don't get any free weeks. If you don't like high-protein, low-carb diets, then don't do this one.

I have signed up for the 6-wk stabalization and then 1-yr of maintenance. I am terrified of gaining the weight back as I would NOT do this diet again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

With that said, however, I have lost the weight, so, it works.

posted Nov 14th, 2010 1:06 pm


tsp

If you're medication for high blood pressure, are you still allowed to take either the Herbal Balance Gold XTRM or the Herbal Balance Metabolizer or the Herbal Balance Platinum ?





I don't want to go and spend all this money only to find out later that I cannot take any of the the weight loss aids.

posted Oct 17th, 2010 11:56 pm


Kristin

I have lost 52 pounds so far on Quick Weight Loss. I was so miserable and ashamed before...I didn't want to see anyone, I was embarrassed to go out of the house. The way people looked at me and responded toward me was so humiliating. I had to do something. I had been on WW for years, and at one time, it worked for me, but had stopped working for months and months. I worked with a trainer 3 times a week and exercised HARD 5 times a week for 8 months with only 10 pounds lost, so I know its about the food and portions, not the exercise. I have loved the program, because it has worked and given me my life and self respect back. I buy all of their stuff, and eat almost exactly on program (every once in awhile, I have a freak out day, and eat extra stuff--like once every 3 months or so...then I have to get back on track). I lost at a slower pace after the first 20 pounds or so, more like 1.5-2 pounds a week, but it was pretty steady, so I don't mind. It has taken me a year to get where I am. I travel 4 days a week, every week, and take all of the food, portioned out, in baggies in a lunch bag with ice that I can refill. It works for me. I have 10 pounds to go to get to my goal, and then I go to stabilization, then maintenance.There's a guy at work that has lost 80 pounds doing the program. I have not exercised the whole time, until now. I have started running and walking, just in the last week. I have not lost since I started exercising, so I am going to give it another week or so, and see if the exercise is helping, or just making me extra hungry. I say if you have the funds, do it. Your life and self respect are worth the money. It will take discipline on your part, and it will take getting used to...keep your mind open, especially for the first month! You'll get used to it, and you'll be so happy with the results. I wish you luck and send my support your way!

posted Oct 10th, 2010 3:51 pm


John

OK - So I lost 100+ lbs in less than a year and now are getting stabilized, then to maintenance.
Think you can do all this on your own? How's that workin' for ya? My idea was to just give it a try before I went for the big surgery procedure, liquid diet, etc. Now I don't think I need to go under the knife - So, what's the secret for a food addict to lose weight on this plan? Basically, just let them lead you into the correct way a human was designed to eat & never think you will be able to gorge on all the junk food again that got you where you are now. Easy? NO; Cheap? NO; Fun? Only if your perversions include self-deprecating submissiveness. Worth it? YUP - Would do it again? Never want to be there again, so would not want it myself, but if you're ready, they know what to do to get you to lose weight.
Now, what shall I reward myself with that is not a food item? Travel? Cars? Boat? Think I'll look around to get a piano and learn how to play it this time around - to keep my hands busy will be less time to eat stuff that will make me fat again.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 11:26 pm


Pattypan

This diet in not bad, it's just very, very costly. I paid the initial 587.00 for my daughter and I (they had a special summer kids price) and didn't sign up for the platinum program or any other great price reduction special. When i refused to upgrade, the girl who was helping us pretended to get a phone call and got up and sent the manager in. It was quite similar to buying a car. I just looked at her and said "not one more dime" Dispite the fact that my daughter has lost 11 pounds and I have lost 8.they are quite rude when we don't lose weight every other day. My daughter ate meat 2 days in a row and the emaciated male counselor looked at us and said "If you aren't on plan then I can't help you for the rest of the week.It is corporate policy". Neither one of us is
seriously overweight and we both feel quite successful so I guess they are just trying to vibe us out because we're not money makers for them. You can get all of their supplements on line at www,diet-direct.com. It is the exact same stuff made by the same people. Only the words on the boxes are different. Don't waste your money in these centers. the counselors are rude and ill informed-just do it on-line and weigh-in with a friend.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 9:22 pm


Lucky13

+

I have to say this was a life saver for me. I'm 28 years old and live in South Florida. I lost 125lbs in 8 months on the QWL program! It completely changed my life. The staff at my center were very knowlegable and had answers for every question I had. All the products they offer are great. My favorite are the EFA's. I'll be on those for life. I have to say that it'svery important to complete the entire program including stabalization and maintenance. It really does help you keep the weight off. I have kept the weight off for 5 months now and have not put on 1lb. I now am more active and working on other fitness goals, something that i thought i could never do. I agree that it may be pricey but the chance to get to live a normal life....you can't put a price on that. GO FOR IT!!

posted Oct 5th, 2010 3:57 pm


Eric

+

I look and feel amazing....I was 398lbs in 11/07...After incorporating the proper nutrition and understanding food and what it means to our body's....I am now 230lbs off all medication and feeling AMAZING....It WORKS....trust ME!...Anyone can do it....I am amazed and everyone that comes in contact R 2...God Bless

posted Oct 4th, 2010 1:59 pm


Tina

-

I am on my 10th week of this diet and I have only lost 11 lbs, despite following all the food rules! When buying into this program I heard "garaunteed to loose the weight" so many times that I totally bought in to the program. I should have lost close to 30 lbs by now according to them. On top of the money loss and lack of weight loss I have experienced I have also suffered severe stomach pains that have landed me in the ER once already due to their supplements. I'm still trying to determine which of their supplements is the cause. I have decided NOT to give them another cent of my money and I don't suggest anyone else does either!

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 3:24 pm


Bob

I've been on the QWLC plan II for 8 weeks, and just finished up the so called "7-day break"
On one hand, I can't argue with the results, I'm down nearly 40lbs.
Unlike many people who have posted, I've been hungry. More plain salad greens just doesn't cut it for me, I'd rather just frink more water I've craved the bread, the beer, pizza, pasta, Mexican and Indian food, which are my favorites.
I would have quit if I did not believe I would get to have those again someday.

What I really dislike about the plans are the prices. $140 for a month supply of their herbal metabolizer is robbery. They do have you sign a statement with the prices just below your signature when you sign up, but they don't mention how long those supplies last on the form.

I'm looking for cheaper alternatives to these supplements, as my wife is about ready to kick me out of the house for spending so much money on this plan.

another complaint I have is the staff is not very knowledgeable. They are slick sale-people, but their technical and medical knowledge is poor. Any probing for details, such as "Why are green onions allowed while white, yellow and red are not?" yields no satisfactory answer. It's been that way with every question of that nature.

Over all, the plan works, so it's not a complete rip-off, but I will not pay any more money to them for their overpriced supplements. I'll find alternatives. There have to be some out there.

posted Sep 20th, 2010 9:22 am


Gussy

+

I did QWLC at the beginning of the year. I liked the diet and it worked well for me. I would like to go back on it, but I can't find the guidebook and really do not want to pay more $$ just to get the food options and quantities.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 1:03 am


paisaqt

Mili... I can send you the scans of the book, send me your email... [email protected]

posted Sep 9th, 2010 1:41 pm



Andrew DiNardo

+

I live in South Florida and saw there was a qwlc mile from my house. Started February and by May lost 50 pounds! Since then I have put some weight back but it works. I felt good, was never hungry and didn't have to go to the gym....

posted Sep 7th, 2010 9:39 am


mili

I have some info that i had when i first started the program back in 2004. I lost tons of weight but fell off the wagon after i got married and had a baby...so if anyone could email me just the front of the blue booklet (well that was the color of mine when i started the program back then) i would appreciate it. my email is . I have the prep phase, the plateu breaker, the 7 day break, and the stabilization guide wk 1-6. If anyone could give me the quatities of oz of meat, bread, how many times per wk i can eat cottage cheese, tuna, and oatmeal...that would be awesome!!! Thank you.

posted Aug 31st, 2010 11:42 am


courtney

+

I am trying to save my finances and I found the family bariatric website sooo incredibly helpful! Thank you for sharing that! However, they only sell the EFA'S. Where can I buy the carb blockers and herbals?

posted Aug 20th, 2010 10:27 pm


Mel

+

I've been on QWLC here in Houston since the first of the year. Yes, they have brick and mortar locations in Florida and Houston. There were originally 5 doctors that started this in Florida. The other 3 are called Slim For Life and are in Denver, Kansas City, and Atlanta. So far I've lost 80 pounds with about 50 more to go. And that includes a lost month while on vacation in Europe. With all the weight I had to lose I didn't want to diet for 3 years, so this was a great fit for me and it's working fantasticly. I don't see how anyone can complain about the taste of the supplements. If you don't like the vanilla shake, there are dozens more that you'll love. Yes, it's expensive, but we're saving a ton of money by eating smaller portions and, most importantly, not going out to eat much. This diet is fantastic.

posted Aug 20th, 2010 7:55 pm


kmorgan

I just signed up this morning. I'm very excited about it! I did this diet over 20 years ago and lost 45 pounds in less than 6 months. I didn't stay on the program for the stabilization and maintenance part and I put the weight back on. Since then I have tried all the other programs, WW, Nutrisystem, JC, etc. QWLC is the only one that worked well for me.

posted Aug 16th, 2010 5:10 pm


tnsne1

I'm in my 4th week and down 9 pounds. I like my food options, but hate that the plan can constantly change as they are always 'revising' it. Such as when I started an egg was ok, now, it's not. And no, I didn't get a reasonable answer.





I just want to thanks those who posted the alternatives to their expensive supplements!





One of my tricks is Nature's Secret Ultimate Cleanse. I already had the pills and they really help with elimination. Be careful to find your right mix!

posted Aug 16th, 2010 10:54 am


tnsne1

I'm in my 4th week and down 9 pounds. I like my food options, but hate that the plan can constantly change as they are always 'revising' it. Such as when I started an egg was ok, now, it's not. And no, I didn't get a reasonable answer.



I just want to thanks those who posted the alternatives to their expensive supplements!



One of my tricks is Nature's Secret Ultimate Cleanse. I already had the pills and they really help with elimination. Be careful to find your right mix!

posted Aug 16th, 2010 10:51 am


Bob S

+

I'm on week 8 of my program at QWLC...so far I'm down 56 pounds with 20 left until my "goal"...but I'm already thinking of losing more weight to my college football weight again...

Yes, there are a couple negatives, some of those suppliments are expensive, the program was kind of pricey to begin with, and some of those foods are just plain NASTY! (Anyone want to buy some of those vanilla "shake" things?

As for positives, there are probably dozens, not to mention the fact of 56 pounds going away. My cholestrol is down from 178 to 138, My blood pressure is down to 122/78, my gout hasn't acted up, my feet don't hurt after I've been on them all day, I'm not snoring anymore, I sleep better, my waist size is down more than 6 inches, chest has stabililized but I got back into the suit I was married in...in 1983!

Look, I needed the "motivation" of spending the money for the program. I'm learning new routines, new foods, even expanded my pallette to include the stuff my grandmother forced me to eat way-back-when. Are these herbal suppliments ticky, or even dangerous? Who knows? But, how unhealthy is hauling around an extra 50-plus pound chunk around my waist? What kind of strain was that extra poundage? On my heart? On my lungs? On my self-confidence?

Yep, I'm looking forward to having a beer again (week 5 of "maintenence") and smelling pizza at my favorite shack is a bummer, but, the salad bar is so much cheaper! I've recommended the program and will continue to do so.

I'm pleased so far.

posted Aug 11th, 2010 12:46 pm


degman

15 pounds in 15 days. Last four days, only 3.5 pounds (slowing down, but not by much)! Great program. I have written other comments this week (all positive), but they do not get posted. I am curious as to why positive comments are not getting posted?

posted Aug 6th, 2010 10:38 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



Whats better than
Quick Weight Loss Centers?