Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2022 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2022 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 19 of 25, 489 total comments)


Bri

-

I'm down 26 lbs and loving how easy this has been. I don't even want to eat the 500 calories that my doctor keeps telling me I can have. She says if I feel fine, 200-300 calories is fine, so thats what I do. An example of the diet protocol can be found in the free pdf book. Just do a search for " Dr. Simeon's HCG Protocol". I am averaging a 3-4 lb loss per week, which isn't bad considering I am not really doing much if any exercise. I had to let the melba toast go, because I am very carb sensitive. I have been getting B12 shots weekly and that seems to boost me past any plateau I may be having that week. Good luck guys. You can email me if you have any questions and want a quicker respons or support at and it will come directly to my phone.

Bri

posted Aug 14th, 2010 7:10 am


lisettem0127

Who can give me an example of what they eat , the menu for the day...

posted Aug 12th, 2010 8:23 pm


erin82

what companies are ppl using? im curious because i have found sooo many online, and im confused.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 4:18 pm


HCG Diet Info

+

It is worth it, I lost close to 50lbs on the HCG Diet . I'm not going to lie and say it is easy, all I know it worked for me. Check out my site at

posted Aug 9th, 2010 10:15 am



Bri

+

23 Days In, 22lbs down and 62lbs to go. I extended to do the 40 days and I skipped my shot yesterday for the first time to prevent immunity. I do think that the weekly B12 shots help with my energy level, eventhough I seem to want to do things they tell me not to do. I have this overwhelming desire to climb and go have fun outdoors. I may just do it anyway. I am pleased with the no hunger aspects of this diet. I have done away with the fruit, and the melba toast as I find that I am too carb and sugar sensitive to handle them and still lose my pound a day and remain hunger free. Stick with your proteins and veggies and your hunger should disappear. If it doesn't consult a doctor who specializes in the HGC protocol. Also, reading the book goes a long way toward understanding how this diet and the hormone actually work.

posted Aug 6th, 2010 2:03 pm



Bri

Sue,
What exactly are you doing on your plan? Did you do it alone or through your doctor? Are you using shots or drops? What do you eat and when? Do you exercise any? Do you take the B12 shots weekly? Bri

posted Aug 6th, 2010 1:54 pm


Sue

-

I have been on the diet (injections) for 10 days and I'm completely miserable. I'm starving and so weak I can't even take care of my family. I have followed the diet completely and am very unhappy. I've lost 12 pounds and as far as I can tell it is all muscle. I am overweight but very fit. I lift weights and jog several times a week. I'm the same size except all of my muscles that were round and firm are now soft and stringy feeling. I can't benchpress even half what I could 10 days ago. Everyone said the side effects would go away, but I'm 10 days in and they're worse! My husband is very concerned and has told me he wants me to stop, but I'm going to give it a chance. Also, I have no other health problems and have always been healthy and fit as a horse even though I have a bmi of 29.

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 8:03 pm



Bri

+

Well, I am on day 20 and am down 20 lbs. Not bad and without the hunger. Hell, I should have tried this a long time ago. It was so much easier to do once I read the information on the web. I actually downloaded the book a reviewed it. I pre-measured my meats and pre-cooked a lot of them to safe me time on food preparation. But I love it and find it difficult to even get the whole 500 calories down.

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 1:19 am


Larry

-

The above "review" is horrendously inaccurate and misleading. Aside from the fact that 80% or more of this methd of weight loss program is the homeopathic version(magnetic signature of teh hormone, not the reel hormone), and is taken in spray or drops, it mentions NOTHING about the fact that your consuming 2000-4000 calories daily from burning brown fat. I won't even destry this silly articel anymore, i just don't think i should have to. Any questions for someone actualy on the protocl that has a brian

posted Jul 26th, 2010 9:37 pm


Nina

I've just started the diet 3 days ago, but I am not really clear about the vegetables ingestion. I know it has to be about 200 calories but how do I know the amount. Lets say I choose to eat celery for lunch how much celery will be 100 calories? Please help me out.

posted Jul 23rd, 2010 11:21 pm


Cal

My wife bought into the program at first and I went along for the ride so to speak. They say that the guys normally loose weight quicker than the gals and that's what is happening. I've lost 14lbs in 20 days. 230-216. Never been on a diet before in my life. My goal is 190lbs and no doubt I will reach it. Not so sure about some of the side effects but I seem a little dizzy at times, more so than usual. Not being a medical Doctor, I would give it a thumbs up.......

posted Jul 23rd, 2010 6:52 am


KM

quote, "the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects". unquote

then it must be good if health and medical professionals won't endors it. Sign me up, coach!

posted Jul 21st, 2010 1:44 am


stlmom

+

I have been taking the hcg platinum drops for 10 days and im down 12lbs! It was tough the first few days getting adjusted to the low calorie diet but it gets easier. One thing I want to stress is dont make it so difficult. I just take the drops and eat my protien and veggies and fruit. I dont add suppliments or change shampoos or lotions ect.... that hasnt been neccesary. I'm happy with my results. I give it a thumbs up!

posted Jul 17th, 2010 5:31 pm



Bri

+

Just a addendum to let you know, that plain mineral oil or coconut oil in moderation is approved by my doctor for use while on the HCG Diet, eventhough I see a contradiction to it on this website review. Shampoo & conditioner by "Nature's Gate Alovera" are approved for use. I kinda wondered if the people who had little success on the diet adhered to the product restrictions suggested when you actually do the diet under an educated physician's supervision. I have learned that it does make a difference. As with anything that hits the market, there will be immitators. That does not necessarily mean that the results will be duplicated. Chow!

posted Jul 16th, 2010 9:58 am



Bri

+

I started the HCG Diet 3 days ago and am in my fourth day. I started at 237.8 lbs, and this morning I weighed 232.8. Wow! I am a registered nurse and had been skeptical about using this as a weight loss aid. It was suggested to me by a friend at the gym after listening to me bitch/moan & groan about the difficulty of weight loss. I did some research and read the science behind the plan, which really helped my mental acceptance. When I first heard the phrase "500 calories a day", I freaked out, like most people would. I opted for the injections, since that is basically the way it would be received by my body naturally occuring anyway. I didn't wan't to be concerned about whether or not there was any conversion to a less effective byproduct. I'm of course facinated by the mechanism of action. I did do research beyond just the HCG part of it, due to my desire to speed fat transport and the rate at which fat is used for energy, so between meals, I supplement my plan with (Chromium Picolinate, L-Carnitine, CoQ10 & Fiber caps). If you want to speed up your weight loss, follow the recommendations for use of personal products also. I switched my toothpaste to baking powder, my deodarant to the Tai Stick from the herb shop, no perfumes or unnatural products. I use mineral oil instead of my regular lotion and purchased Xylitol natural sweetener for my black morning coffee. My doctor gave me the ok to use it in moderation as it can cause diarrhea which may be desirable for someone who suffers from constipation. I use my neutrogena SPF 70 sunscreen with my doctors approval on my face and shoulders sparingly. I also switched my soap to dial instead of my usual oil of olay. The only exercise I do is walk on my treadmill 30 minutes daily and I will try yoga this week to help my flexibility. I have to admit, that I lead a pretty sedentary lifestyle, but am trying to change that. This is meant to be a jumpstart for me and I anticipate loosing at least 20-30 lbs on the 23 day plan I am doing. If I like it, I will be extending to the 40 day plan. I will try to keep you posted at least weekly. My goal weight, by the way is 150 lbs. I have not been below 160, since I have been an adult and I am now 44 years old. That would be a nice birthday present to myself in December. Wish me luck and happy researching to all those wishing to regain control of your life through weight loss. As long as you remember that this is a launch pad and not a way of life, you are beginning with the right mentality. Strangely enough, I didn't do the 2 days of gorging and I havn't been hungry yet. Oh, don't forget to give your injections at the same time everyday. I prefer to do mine late evening and then walk after dinner.

posted Jul 16th, 2010 9:43 am


Bri

+

I started the HCG Diet 3 days ago and am in my fourth day. I started at 237.8 lbs, and this morning I weighed 232.8. Wow! I am a registered nurse and had been skeptical about using this as a weight loss aid. It was suggested to me by a friend at the gym after listening to me /moan & groan about the difficulty of weight loss. I did some research and read the science behind the plan, which really helped my mental acceptance. When I first heard the phrase "500 calories a day", I freaked out, like most people would. I opted for the injections, since that is basically the way it would be received by my body naturally occuring anyway. I didn't wan't to be concerned about whether or not there was any conversion to a less effective byproduct. I'm of course facinated by the mechanism of action. I did do research beyond just the HCG part of it, due to my desire to speed fat transport and the rate at which fat is used for energy, so between meals, I supplement my plan with (Chromium Picolinate, L-Carnitine, CoQ10 & Fiber caps). If you want to speed up your weight loss, follow the recommendations for use of personal products also. I switched my toothpaste to baking powder, my deodarant to the Tai Stick from the herb shop, no perfumes or unnatural products. I use mineral oil instead of my regular lotion and purchased Xylitol natural sweetener for my black morning coffee. My doctor gave me the ok to use it in moderation as it can cause diarrhea which may be desirable for someone who suffers from constipation. I use my neutrogena SPF 70 sunscreen with my doctors approval on my face and shoulders sparingly. I also switched my soap to dial instead of my usual oil of olay. The only exercise I do is walk on my treadmill 30 minutes daily and I will try yoga this week to help my flexibility. I have to admit, that I lead a pretty sedentary lifestyle, but am trying to change that. This is meant to be a jumpstart for me and I anticipate loosing at least 20-30 lbs on the 23 day plan I am doing. If I like it, I will be extending to the 40 day plan. I will try to keep you posted at least weekly. My goal weight, by the way is 150 lbs. I have not been below 160, since I have been an adult and I am now 44 years old. That would be a nice birthday present to myself in December. Wish me luck and happy researching to all those wishing to regain control of your life through weight loss. As long as you remember that this is a launch pad and not a way of life, you are beginning with the right mentality. Strangely enough, I didn't do the 2 days of gorging and I havn't been hungry yet. Oh, don't forget to give your injections at the same time everyday. I prefer to do mine late evening and then walk after dinner.

posted Jul 16th, 2010 9:17 am


BigB6162

Has anyone treid the homeopathic version of HCG? And, what type of results did you get?

posted Jul 14th, 2010 9:46 am


Jen332

+

I did this diet under dr supervision. proud to say i lost 40 pounds (even lost eating sugar free icecream in phase 3) but unfortunately, only 3 months after I had worked regular food back in, I am up 60 pounds. So all 40 plus 20 more! Just be careful guys that you dont go back to your old habits like i did =( I want to do it again and this time go straight into weight watchers or something like that. Dont take time off.

posted Jul 12th, 2010 6:43 pm


mandi

+

I have been on the hcg diet for a week now. I am taking the drops along with the dieting I am down 6 lbs. I am happy with that. I have done low calorie dieting in the past with not so good of results. I have hungry times but overall I think it curbs my appetite some.

posted Jul 12th, 2010 6:22 pm


Dawna

+

Love the diet!!!!

posted Jul 12th, 2010 1:19 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PROPRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CONCON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Whats better than
hCG Diet?