Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2022 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2022 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 20 of 25, 489 total comments)

Beson

-

I've done the injection shots for 10 days and I've lost 0.2 lbs. I've done the reduced diets, even the apple a day. I have to honestly say that if I could go back, I'd get a refund and take my money. The HCG shot does nothing, it's the dieting of 500 calories you are only allowed to take in. So don't plan on socializing for 6 weeks, because honestly you can't go anywhere on the diet. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND JUST ACCEPT WHO YOU ARE, I JUST DID.

posted Jul 10th, 2010 1:46 am


mandi

I bought hcg platinum at GNC and started the drops today. I dont lose weight easily even though I eat fairly healthy and exercise 4 times a week. Not sure if this will work I hope to lose 20 or 30 lbs. Cross my fingers lol......

posted Jul 5th, 2010 5:28 pm


terry

I am curious as to how those of you who went with the drops rather than injections found the 'real' thing. There are thousands of website that claim to have the drops but which one is real?
Are injections the better way to go?

posted Jun 29th, 2010 7:21 pm


brandi

+

I have been on the Hcg diet for 6 days and lost 10 pound that to me is amayzing. And i hardley feel hungry..

posted Jun 29th, 2010 4:57 pm


shanon

+

I went to SlimXpress in Los Angeles -- where they custom fit this diet to you. They approach their patients scientifically, which made me more comfortable with the idea of a low calorie diet. They perform a complete body analysis which measures your body composiition, body fat, lean muscle mass, phase angle, and metabolism rate.
I ate between 600-800 calories a day, which included 4 half servings of their diet shake. My HCG dosage was 15 ccs mixed with B-12. I wasn't very hungry and found it easy to cook for. I lost about 30 pounds in three months. The first twenty came off pretty quickly, but now that I'm in a healthy weight range weight loss is getting harder. Plus, I'm on maintenance and I'm thinking of going back on it full blast to loss the last 10.

But it's not the weight loss that I'm impressed with -- it's the inches I lost. I started at a size 12 and now I'm almost fitting into 2s. I would usually have to be at least 15 pounds less to fit into this size. I think this is because the weight I've lost is mostly fat, which is lighter than muscle, but takes up more mass. I started with a BM1 of 31 and now it's at 22. My goal is 19.

My starting measurements were:
Bust: 41
Waist: 32
Hips: 42
Thighs: 25

Now:
Bust: 34 (but my cup size is the same!)
Waist: 24
Hips: 34.5
Thighs: 19

My Goal:
Bust: 34
Waist: 22
Hips: 34
Thighs: 17

I'm only 5'1'', so this measurements looks normal on my petite frame.

This is the best money I've ever spent.

posted Jun 23rd, 2010 5:16 pm


Dennis

+

I just started the hCG diet. The injections are not painful at all. I have felt hungry a few times but I keep a bottle of water handy. When I do feel hungry, I drink some water and that seems to help. I have only been doing the injections for 8 days now and I have been eating 500 calories for 6 days now. In that time, I have already lost 14 lbs. The diet is very restrictive but it is only temporary.

How many people have tried for years to lose weight with little or no success? I am doing a 52 day protocol to lose weight with hCG. The diet restrictions are less than 2 months. Making such a large transformation in less than 2 months is definitely worth going on a restrictive diet and not being able to eat much.

The hard part will be keeping it off. If you go back to eating a bunch of junk then you should fully expect to gain every pound back. If you choose to change your eating habits and eat healthier after the diet, you will be more successful in keeping the weight off.

If anyone starts the hCG diet or is currently on it, I wish you well and hope you find success.

I made up my mind before I started that I would not "cheat" and eat foods that weren't allowed. This will assure me the most success possible while on the diet. One slip could stop my weight loss for several days. That one slip is not worth it to me. I would rather lose as much as possible and enjoy other foods after I lose what I want to lose.

posted Jun 21st, 2010 10:45 pm


steph

I just started the hcg diet drops 4 days ago , i just don feel like i'm losing the weight . is this normal?

posted Jun 18th, 2010 11:01 pm


Tina

I wish people would not immediately dismiss this diet when they hear the words '500 calories per day'. These people have no idea or understanding of what it is like to try for years to lose weight and continually fail. I have been on this diet for 19 days - and I've lost 15 pounds. I am not hungry, in fact, I've never felt so good in my life. I am energetic, in a good mood, and amazingly, I don't even crave fatty junk foods. This is a true diet miracle. I wish the FDA and American Medical Association would stop being led by the pharmacetucial companies and open their minds to new strategies other than drugs. Sure, they'll approve phen-phen, a diet pill that causes heart disease, but not this miracle diet. There are natural remedies out there that our greedy, capatilist doctors and FDA wouldn't even consider because they don't make money off of it. A person's weight loss is accelerated due to this hormone - it promotes the breakdown of fat. I am shrinking each day, I feel so healthy and I urge anyone, anyone who needs to lose a lot of weight and has had many past failures to try this - do injections through a doctor, it may cost more, but I promise you, if you are open minded and stick to it and work at it, it is the fastest, most effective weight loss plan you will ever use. I am just a simple person who stumbled across a doctor who suggested this, and I have never been so happy. My blood test results are actually BETTER than it was prior to starting this diet, proving that your body is not being starved because for the first time ever it is using your fat stores for nutrition. I am no one - just a 37 year old woman who has been trapped in a size 14 body for three years now, and I feel like I'm being transformed each day for the better. And I have this wonderful diet to thank.

posted Jun 17th, 2010 1:34 pm


KIM

+

Lost 29 lbs. in a 42 day cycle. Did not like the food I had to eat. But all in all was a good move for me. I lost 22 inches

posted Jun 17th, 2010 11:08 am


lauren

+

14 lbs 12 days. kept it off so far, the same greasy/creamy foods i used to crave, now repulse me. =)

posted Jun 14th, 2010 5:15 pm


Johnimae

+

The HCG diet is amazing! I lost 23 lbs in 42 days! You can season your food with all kinds of different spices so it does not get boring. I experienced a little bit of dizziness and when I hit a plateau I gave myself an apple and water day to break it! I suggest that any bad reviews on this diet are those people who have other medical issues. If you have weight to lose and you do not want to lose any muscle mass than this is the diet for you!! Its life changing.... do it!

posted Jun 13th, 2010 6:29 pm


jaxgirl

+

I just started the HCG diet on Monday and have already lost 2lbs. I have felt a little hungry in the mornings, but I used to eat breakfast every morn. My sister has lost 18lbs on this diet with no problems. I quit smoking a year ago January and gained 50lbs. I went from a size 12 to a size 16 and was very depressed. I went to my Dr. and he would not prescribe the HCG, so I went to my sisters Dr. and she prescribed me the diet. the charge was only $52.95 at the pharmacy and $20.00 co-pay for the Dr. I'm thinking this is the best money ever spent on myself.

posted Jun 10th, 2010 9:37 am


MM

+

I started the sublinqual drops (I could never do the injections) 5 days ago. I did my 2 day gorge and now I am on the 500 calorie diet. I weighed myself this morning and I am down 7 lbs. On a regular diet it would take me 3 weeks to lose that kind of weight. I have had hunger and a bit of dizziness but it has gotten better each day. The only problem I have is my family is eating regularly and I have to watch while I eat my small plain meal. I feel fine though. I thought I would have a problem with HCG because I am very sensitive to hormones, but no over emotional problems except when everyone is having pizza. :-) I think I am going to try 40 days. This may be the solution I have been searching for. I am still curious on being able to maintain after the 40 days is up. I will keep you posted.

posted Jun 9th, 2010 3:36 pm


Deb

This is my second time around with this diet. It works I lost 36lbs and a total of 13.5 inches, my first round. I eat more then 500 calories a day. The HCG-500 calorie a day way that was founded by Dr. Simeon's in the late 1950's. has had a few minor changes with the center I am with. I eat 120 grams of protein a day, I eat 5-6 times a day and eat fruits and vegetables. I have a cook book that comes with the program and them meals are great. I drink 1/2 my body weight in oz's of water. If you weigh 200lbs drink 100 oz's of water a day. I take injections for 6 weeks this is phase I, then I intorduce healthy fats in phase II for 3 weeks, then you go into phase III and reintorduce heathy carbs. Phase II is where you reset your weight. This program is wonderful and I would recommend it to everyone. MAKE SURE YOU ARE GETTING HUMAN HCG, NOT ANIMAL HCG. YOUR BODY IS NOT MADE FOR ANIMAL HORMONES.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 8:27 pm


Di_Texas

Somebody earlier asked if this HCG diet is appropriate for diabetics.
I am type 2 diabetic, non-insulin dependent and take Metformin only. I completed 43 days of HCG protocol.
My A1C went down from 6.5 before the diet to 5.8 after. Per my doctor‚??s instructions I adjusted my dose of Metformin (cut it to 1/3 of pre-diet dose) and my sugars were just great thru the diet. I also had no sugar/carbs cravings thru the diet, so yes, it works for diabetics very well.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 2:26 pm


Di_Texas

+

I would like to share my results and experience after a round of hCG diet.
I am 40 years old female (Type 2 diabetic).
I started my program at 186.5 lb. Today my weight is: 165 lbs. Total weight lost: 21.5 lb. Average daily weight loss: 0.44 lb.
My weight loss protocol length: 43 days. I used injections: 125 ml under doctor‚??s supervision.
My general opinion of HCG experience was great. For me this was the easiest diet that I have ever been on. Considering rapid weight loss it is comparable to HMR (Health Management Resources) liquid diet that I previously tried. I cannot emphasize how easy HCG diet was in comparison. On HMR medically supervised liquid diet I lost 40 lb in 3 months. I was constantly starving and physically uncomfortable. I did not eat real food (artificial shakes) and within weeks I was sick and tired of eating the same shakes. I don‚??t care how much a person tries to flavor it or change the consistency of it, it was still the same strange powder that did not sustain thru the day. The liquid diet also demanded strenuous exercise. I worked out hard 2 hours a day almost every day, burning around 700 calories.
Now my HCG protocol. For the first 2 days I had light headache. Nothing major. The shots very easy and never bothered me. During my 43 days I felt hungry maybe on 5 occasions (particularly after few days without shots during my period). But it was a good type of hunger. My belly was letting me know it was empty, not the horrible cravings where the chemicals in your brain force you to think about particular foods (carbs) 24-7. This was such a great change from my previous diet experiences. For maybe 3 days I did have some discomfort with my gallbladder. I started taking ‚??chanca piedra‚?Ě, Amazon jungle herb supporting liver and gallbladder function, and within couple of days my symptoms resolved.
The only issue that I had with on my HCG protocol was that I did not introduce enough variety in my foods. I pretty much did simple things and to somebody else that could be boring. But I did love the fact that I was eating real food, made by myself from scratch and enjoyed every bite of my meals:)

The huge difference with this diet was the fact that ALL I had to do was just to stay focused on the results and stick to the protocol. Considering that I had no food cravings or hunger, just looking at my bathroom scale every morning was very motivating and easily kept me from departing from the diet. My experience was so great, that I am already planning to do the next round as soon as possible following dr. Simeons recommendations.
PS. This is a testimony how great my HCG experience was. When I was on liquid diet I could not wait another day to be done with it and start eating normal food! On HCG I cannot wait to go into phase3 and phase4, so I can continue with another successful round. HCG diet rocks!

posted Jun 8th, 2010 2:17 pm


Carolina924

+

This diet was a miracle for me. I lost 15 pounds in 23 days and what feels and looks like 15 years (I'm 66). I did it with injections from my doctor that I gave myself--not at all painful, no big deal. It cost me around $400, which I think is not bad for a total body transformation. Yes, it was tedious. No, I was not hungry. It also completely reduced inflammation, arthritis and auto-immune symptoms. I feel healthier than ever, and am sorry that so much misinformation is keeping this from people who would benefit. I recommend doing this with a medical professional so that you know exactly what you're getting and that the dose is right for you.

posted Jun 7th, 2010 8:14 pm


nick

+

HCG works great I've done it twice and I would do it again.

posted Jun 6th, 2010 5:22 pm


jam911

wow you spent a lot.. you might live in an area that is high end place.. i paid 499 for mines.. but out in the gables they cost 1200 but if you call around.. you will be able to find for less. i am a barginor.. so i called around till i turned blue.. lol.. this lady i can pay weekly instead of up front!

posted Jun 5th, 2010 8:55 am user comment


airie797

-

I spent $2k for the HCG diet & I lost 10 pounds in 3 months... probably because I couldn't eat more than 800 calories a day. This is NOT worth the money, time or effort!!! To loose weight the healthy way is to eat right & excersice! It is a lifestyle change, but I could have spent my $2k on healthy food & a gym membership instead of giving myself a shot a day for 3 months.

posted Jun 2nd, 2010 5:22 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PROPRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CONCON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Whats better than
hCG Diet?