Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2022 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2022 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 23 of 25, 489 total comments)

mommy to three toddlers

+

I hope this works to reset my severe thyroid problem. I ordered the oral drops and hope they work as well as the injections. This is my third day and I am soooo hungry!

posted Mar 30th, 2010 2:53 pm


userfile
Stacy1161

So... I made a status of mine on facebook stating that I wanted to lose weight & that I was in search of some diet/exercise partners to follow a 6wk plan with me.

I received a comment from my cousin (that I hardly ever talk to or see) & she began to tell me that her & a friend of hers is doing a 6wk program themselves and she called it the HCG Organic diet.

Now never before this have I ever even heard of this diet until she told me.

She told me that she has done this diet before & lost 40lbs in 6wks.

After searching this diet & reading reviews on it I must say that I am still a skeptic.

The diet consist of HCG injections or taking drops daily in addition to a 500 calorie a day organic diet & you don't have to exercise.

For the record... HCG stands for Human Chorionic Gonadotropins: The major hormone secreted by the placenta. In the early stages of pregnancy.

As I have told her... It sounds like a starvation diet to me & I am very awear of the starvation diet & the consequences because I've did this diet for 15 days before & I lost 25lbs in that short amount of time then after the 15 days I began to slowly introduce foods back to my body but the end result was that my tummy seemed to be the place on me where it began to store fat for it didn't know if it would ever be starved again.

I ended up gaining all of that weight back plus more.

I explained this to my cousin & she stated & I quote... After you complete the 6 weeks you continue to eat the organic foods for another 6 weeks and you slowly introduce other foods back into your diet. If you jump back into eating regular foods after the 6 weeks of course you will gain the weight back. You are (in simple form) resetting your metabolism in the 2nd six weeks to keep the weight off.

So I said to her... So is the diet actually a 12wk program? Tell me cuz? Are you hungry on this diet? Do you get dizzy? & why do a diet that would make you have to reset your metabolism afterwards just as you would need to do after a starvation diet? Im sorry but it's pretty much sounding like a starvation diet to me except you get 500 calories more than you actually would on a starvation diet. Why not just do a organic diet, not combining it with the HCG injections that you are doing because there is no scientific evidence that the HCG even helps with the weight loss process & instead just exercise?

She says... When you eat a low calorie diet without the hcg you lose structural fat instead of the abnormal fat and your body needs the structural fat.

Yet I read a review that stated that this is not true & although this person did lose an excessive amount of weight he also lost muscle. & in his exact words he says... In my opinion, the HCG Diet is just like any other starvation diet out there today, as far as end results. Only 59% of my weight loss was actual fat. Included in that fat loss was a drop in my visceral fat-- this is needed structural fat, the kind that HCG is supposed to prevent. I am here to tell you that it most certainly DID NOT protect me from losing vital fat. And it certainly didn't protect me from losing vital muscle.

Also I read where some of the sellers are not selling you exactly what you think you are buying. The HCG is not cheap & you could be getting scammed. Wouldn't it upset you if you found out after you spent hundreds of dollars that it really wasn't HCG in the bottle & it was something else like maybe saline???

So of course I'd love to lose 40lbs in 6wks but I am asking all that has done this diet & it has been well over 12wks since to give me your review on it because as I said I am still skeptical???

posted Mar 24th, 2010 5:47 am


BJ

mlocket - you might want to drop the exercising for awhile. In Dr. Simeons book he says 'Finally, the weight can temporarily increase - paradoxical though this may sound - after an exceptional physical exertion of long duration leading to a feeling of exhaustion. ...usually result in a gain of weight on the following day, unless the patient is in perfect training. Though the extra muscular effort involved does consume some additional Calories, this appears to be offset by the retention of water which the tired circulation cannot at once eliminate."

For those of you that think this is simply a 500 calorie diet - that's ridiculous to think that all the people that have done this believe 500 calories is sufficient for our body. There's more to it than that and it would be helpful if you would read Dr. Simeons book. It's available free online.

HCG can cause a flare up of acne. If someone is tired and irritable on the program they're probably not dosing right.

posted Mar 16th, 2010 8:11 pm


Elizabeth

+

I hate needles, so I ordered the HcG and mixed it according to directions and squirt it under my tongue in the morning and in the afternoon. I found direction on how to mix on Utube, and just followed the diet (well I also cheated on the diet). On days where I cheated, I just did extra exercise to make up for the extra calories. I lost 20 pounds and also felt like I lost 20 years. My skin and hair looked better than it ever did. I am 49 and I got carded three times last week! I feel great! And I NEVER used the injection!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 2:51 am


gubby

-

My wife started this diet, much to my dismay, about a week ago. I alerted her to all the side effects that may go along with it, and she's going along with this anyhow. Since then, ive noticed she's brokend out in a few pimples, and the irritablity is far beyond off the chart, although she says its fine. She's lots about a pound a day, so she's saying its working! The headaches and tiredness that she's having cant possibly be attributed to the 500 calorie intake(sarcasm).
If you are able to maintain this few amount of caloric intake, why not just make sensible choices and exercise? This is not a cure all and quite frankly sounds dangerous. There is a reason this hormone is on the list of banned substances in sports(pro baseball). Sure its going to work, but you cant maintain this forever. Its a temporary fix for weightloss, the only thing permanent is the loss of money spent.

posted Mar 15th, 2010 10:23 pm


Bonita

I started the diet 1 week ago. I have lost 10 lbs. I feel great, and do not struggle with being hungry. I work 3 nites a week and so it is a change to have to change my eating and drops. Thus far it is working great. I just hope it continues to come off, I would like to loose another 25-30.

posted Mar 15th, 2010 3:32 pm


mlocket

So I have been on the HCG plan now for 11 days and have only lost 5 pounds. I do have to say I started my cycle last Friday, so that might be a big part of it. We shall see. I started out at 193.8 I woke up this morning to 188.6. Yes, it is nice to be under 190, however it seems like at this moment I am giving up a whole lot to have only lost 5 pounds. I am also on the treadmill 30 minutes everyday, so you would think with exercising and dropping the calorie intake to 500 you would think I would had lost way more than that. But, I am not going to give up. I have a goal to reach before July 9! We are going to Cancun and I refuse to be FAT this year. I plan to be at least 140 before we go on this trip. So I have 48 lbs. to go. That is around 10 pounds a month....... I WILL GET THERE!!!!!!!!! :)

posted Mar 15th, 2010 11:25 am


LindaC

-

Karen & Geillis, I have not done this diet nor would I even consider going on a diet like this. True you lose fat when you go on a 500 calorie diet of any kind, but you also lose muscle ! When you start eating normal again, you will gain weight again & usually more than you lost ! Plus the weight that you put on will all be fat - not any of the muscle that you lost on the diet.
If you want guaranteed weight loss that stays off and is done in a healthy & safe manner to lose fat and gain lean muscle, then you should try the Metaboliq System designed by the Leading Award Winning Dr. of Nutrition & Metabolism for 2009, Dr. Donald Layman. 30+ years of research & 3 years of human testing prior to release 5 weeks ago. It resets & recharges your metabolism to burn fat that fuels your muscles. Complete Protein to Carb Balanced Meals - Healthy - Safe and you will lose 2-3 pounds a week, plus be able to eat normal 2 meals a day. No gimmicks, no yoyo diets. Get it off & keep it off. If you want more info, you can contact me at
LindaC

posted Mar 14th, 2010 12:23 am


Zulma

+

I just started my HCG drops on Saturday . Saturday and Sunday were my binge days.I started my low calorie diet on Monday. The first day I felt terrible. On my second day in the morning I woke up to find out when I weight my self that I had lost 4pounds! I went from 197.0 to 193.0 overnight. I'm following the program and I'm not cheating though.I drink green tea and lots of water during the day. You definitely have to have discipline otherwise you'll never make it. If you know you are quick to put on the weight you have lost by consuming white bread, rice, and sweets everyday then be more careful on your intake. Every-body is different,everyone has a different reaction to foods and medication. keep positive and be happy.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 4:32 pm


BJ

I've started this with a slight mess up, but no big deal. The dr gave me the first shot yesterday, but I didn't load. So I gave myself the second shot today, but it's my first load day. Usually I barely eat, just no appetite, so I figured I better force myself through these load days to make sure it works. I usually fast 2-3 times a year to get my arthritis pain under control, so the low calorie isn't scary for me.

Anyone that is worried about giving themselves a shot, the needle is tiny, you don't even feel it go in. Just pinch some skin about an inch away from the belly button and insert...simple.

My background - I have 40 lbs to lose. Was never overweight until given 8 steroid injections in my lower back for pain. I ballooned and no exercise or diet would reduce my weight. Now I have a plantar plate tear in my foot and can't do aerobics, so my activity level is drastically reduced. Can't get the surgery because of no insurance. Ugh! Anyway, doc suggested these shots so here I go!

posted Mar 5th, 2010 11:01 am


Melanie

Okay, so I am trying not to think about it, but I feel like this is where the hard part begins. I have gotten through the 2 day loading period and now on my 3rd day starting the 500 calories a day system. On day one I was at 191.3 after loading I am at 193.8.... I am excited and have been a litle tempted this morning, however I have controlled myself..... Had to set up for a meeting this morning and the first thing that came in front of me was Blue Berry Muffins, my favorite.... I did not touch them. 2nd I walked over to discuss some things with a co-worked who always has chocolate at her desk, I almost reached up and grab a piece, but I said NOOOOOOOO..... Do not touch! The funny thing is I am not really hungry at all, it is just the temptation right in front of my face.... So wish me luck. I really think if I can get past the first few days of this I will be fine, I just have to remember I am doing this for me and m health. Wish me luck and I will keep you all updated on my status!

posted Mar 4th, 2010 9:51 am


Geillis Duncan

-

I lost 27 lbs in 6 weeks on the HCG diet and did the 3 week maintenace program afterward. However, the weight is coming back and I exercise regularly (run on treadmill and take ballet class 2x week) and just eating healthy meals - I am gaining weight. It seems that any carbs or sweets just pile it back on - I can go up and down 5 pounds in a day or two and that never happened before. DId HCG do something to my metabolism that is negative? Also, I was hungry and tired with lack of focus during the diet. I need to lose another 15 pounds or so and will just keep eating healthy low cal meals and amp up my exercise. I may not be as thin but I feel better and that means something! Are others keepig the weight off after HCG with normal meals and activity or are you having to stick to
a diet that is close to the HCG protocol to keep it off? I cant and wont live like that. Life is too short! And some carbs are good for you as are some fats (olive oil, avocado, etc.)

posted Mar 1st, 2010 5:55 pm


Melanie

I am very excited. I received the HCG drops in the mail today. I will start tomorrow. After reading all of these post I am so excited as to what I can accomplish with this HCG plan. I have tried not to call anything a diet anymore.

I had my son 14 months ago, I lost 30 of the 50 pounds I gained during pregnancy right off the bat. However, I had already gained so much weight prior to getting pregnant. Nothing I have done has seemed to work and nothing keeps me interested. I have tried exercising with one pound coming off a month, the turn around and gain it back. I tried Nutri System, was a total waist of money, have tried several diet pills, nothing has worked at all. I am now at 195.5 pounds, I would like to get back down to my weight when I got married, when I was 125. So wish me luck, I have all the faith in the world after reading all of the blogs that this is going to work and I am going to be able to keep it off.

I will update you as the days go by....... :)

posted Mar 1st, 2010 5:34 pm


Hailey

After reading all the reviews, I am interested in this weight loss product. I only want to lose about 30lbs. I want to get the injection because I am not good with taking anything on time or daily. I was just wondering if anyone can tell me. I know the injections need a prescription from the dr. I am not over weight or obese, I weigh 147 lbs 5'5. I don't want to waste money going to the dr and they tell me they won't do it for me. Has anyone of you gone to the dr to get the shots when you aren't over weight or obese? Please email me for advise. Thank you.



posted Feb 28th, 2010 1:20 am


Charlene

+

My husband and I have been on it for 19 days. He has lost 30 lbs. and I have lost 19 lbs. It's hard and very disciplined but obviously that's what we needed. So far no side effects.

posted Feb 25th, 2010 12:00 pm


KC

I will be starting the HCG shots on Monday. I will keep you all posted on my progress.

posted Feb 24th, 2010 11:12 pm


FRIZZY

REDUCED calorie intake (Which is why these dummies that are on the diet are losing weight) This diet only allows 400-500 calories a day‚?¶..Well of course these stupid people are losing weight. And injecting foreign liquid in your body that Dr‚??s are charging for and making a ton money, isn‚??t the reason people are losing the weight. There may be some effects of the injection that helps weight loss, but so did half of the diet pills that have been recalled because of serious health risks.



If you ask me this diet is a cop out and the lazy way to lose weight. The only true way to lose weight and keep it off is a healthy diet and regular exercise. The body for life workout and eating program is a great one to go by‚?¶.it also allows you to have one free day a week to indulge a little. I have lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks on this plan. What really makes me mad about these fad diets and stupid people, is that I had to work hard and lose my weight the right and healthy way. I am way too active to be taking in only 400 calories a day I would collapse from exhaustion. I don‚??t count calories I eat low fat good carb‚??s and lean protein and a lot of water. Also when the human body takes in so little calories it loses muscle mass‚?¶no thanks I don‚??t want to be a skinny fat girl, I want to look toned and feel healthy‚?¶I don‚??t think flabby skinny is attractive by any means. Five years ago I started martial arts and have lost 70 lbs, I went from a size 18-20 to a size 10 and I am not stopping now, I will reach my goal even if it takes another year. I want to be proud of what I accomplished and not ashamed because I gave into injecting foreign liquid in my body BECAUSE I WAS TOO LAZY TO WORK HARD!

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 5:10 pm


Ash

+

Though the hCG diet is very low in the caloric intake, I found it to be very helpful. My dad and I went on this diet together, and though you must be very disciplined, the end results are pleasing. It comes in two other forms (not just the injections). We did the nasal spray, and there is also a topical ointment, though the injections are, I am assuming, the most effective. I lost 18 pounds, and he lost 20 (in our first rounds). After a short amount of time, you can do it again, if desired. And the only way I see that you can gain the weight back is if you go back to bad eating habits. Additionally, I never experienced any side effects from it, other than being hungry still. So, overall, if you can be THAT disciplined (and it is hard), I think very highly of this diet.

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 12:08 am


Karen

-

I had side effects - dizziness, irritable, tired and unlike others who claim they were not hungry, I was starving. It helped with cravings, but not hunger. After 6 days, I gained 3 pounds. It was a miserable diet for me and I've been on so many different diets that I cannot begin to count. It took 2 weeks of a 1,200 calorie diet to lose those 3 pounds that I gained on this diet.

posted Feb 19th, 2010 12:50 pm


Sami

+

I did the HCG injections through my doctor a couple of years ago. The shot was only once a week and the the calories was 1200 or less a day. No where near as drastic as what I've been reading. It worked great, no side affects to date. I lost 50lbs in less than 6 months. It was SOOOO EASY!! I kept it off for about 2 yrs. I have regained it all, but it is completely my own fault. I am quite ashamed of myself, considering how dedicated I was and how much $$ I spent. It is definitely a lifestyle change that keeps it off. I am really wanting to try the drops because I hate needles, but am not sure about them. Any advice would be great!

posted Feb 9th, 2010 7:25 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PROPRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CONCON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Whats better than
hCG Diet?