Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2022 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2022 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 22 of 25, 489 total comments)

nancy

I just started the HCG diet with Dr.G in silverspring, MD he gave me teh shot and a B12 shot when i left the clinic i passed to five guys had a burger fries and diet coke then went to work had a kitkat then met my fiance at panera bread for dinner had an onion soup with a baguette and fontega chichen i feel bloaded is that normal for load day or i should eat less?

tomorrow will be my second day for my load day i think im gonna have an icecream how much weight i should gain in my load days?

posted Apr 27th, 2010 11:21 pm


liz

Loved the HCG Diet Lost 25 lbs in 3 weeks and have kept it off for a year and I eat whatever I please!!! IT WORKS!

posted Apr 25th, 2010 11:35 pm


kSmith

Zhen you really do not know what you are talking about. I'm sorry, but I did a lot of research before I got on this diet. You could not eat only 500 calories without hcg. You would get sick, and be in starve mode! hcg makes your body think it has 2,000 to 4,000 calories in it so you burn the bad fat, and keep your muscle, and good fat. I have never felt better! You eat organic fruit, orgaic vegtables, organic meats, fish etc. You do not put any bad stuff in your body anymore!!! You take a lot of vitamins! I have tried every diet, and diet pill known to men, and this is all that worked for me. I got to see the scales go down 1/2 - 1 - 2 pounds every day! I'm so Excited about it!!! Then you go to phase 3 where you do not take the drops anymore, and go up to 1500 calories a day adding in dairy. Then phase 4 you do that, and add in some carbs & sugar. You still weigh every day, and if you gain two pounds you have some special things you do to get it off the next day!

posted Apr 25th, 2010 11:56 am


kSmith

I forgot to tell you since she is a distributor she sells them for only $49.00, and gives you two hcg recipe books, the Dr. Simeon's diet, and she has secrets to make you loose the most weight!!!

posted Apr 25th, 2010 11:48 am


Mr young

Anyone know of a website to purchase the drops?

posted Apr 25th, 2010 12:05 am


Michael

I think the hCG Diet is a great way to lose weight. There are some people that have tried to lose weight every other way and just can't. Then they try the hCG Diet and it works. So if it works I say go for it.

I have never heard of anyone dying from this diet, have you?

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 3:22 pm


Brian

Zhen,

everyone is entitled to think and say what they want to " Would you inject yourself with lady pee just because a convicted felon said you will lose weight? I'm talking about Kevin Trudeau, the infomercial promoter of this scam. "

But Kevin Trudeau had nothing to do with developing the HCG Diet Protocol and your not actually injecting urine.

This diet may be highly controversial, but it works! I know this...

Brian M. Connole

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 3:18 pm


Angie

+

I've just started the diet four days ago. When they say you won't be hungry, I'm really surprised. I did the two days where you were supposed to eat as much bad stuff as you wanted. Third day, around 9 am, I was sitting in class and got a little hungry. All I had was water until we got lunch break. By lunch break, I wasn't hungry. I finally made myself eat last night. Today, I'm at work. I was hungry this morning from about 8 am to 1030 or so, but it subsided. Finally made myself eat around 7 pm tonight.

They recommend weighing every day, but I haven't. I didn't want all the crap I ate on the first day to affect the numbers. How disappointing it would be to have started the diet and GAINED from the original weight? I figure I'll weigh tomorrow, lol.

And Zhen, you cannot rely on ANYTHING published in wikipedia... It is the most unreliable source of information on the internet.

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 11:43 pm


thurstonp

+

The most attractive aspect of this diet is that it basically cures one's addiction to, and craving for, sugar and fatty foods. You do get to eat high-protein, lean meats for lunch and dinner, so the hysteria about losing muscle is unfounded. And sugar cravings are satisfied by consuming natural sugars from apples, oranges, grapefruit or strawberries, not candy and processed foods. And we're only talking 30-40 days before slowly resuming what should be "normalâ?ť diet, not the fatty, sugar- laden routine that gets so many people obese in the first place. This diet isnâ??t for everyone â?? it isnâ??t a miracle cure. You still have to be disciplined and thoughtful about what you eat. If you canâ??t be, then you will waste your time.

posted Apr 20th, 2010 9:57 pm


zhen

Would you inject yourself with lady pee just because a convicted felon said you will lose weight? I'm talking about Kevin Trudeau, the infomercial promoter of this scam. (see wikipedeia) Do your research. Look for peer reviewed medical journal articles on PubMed. This diet has been properly reviewed. If it really worked, don't you think big pharma would obtain FDA clearance?
The diet works because it is highly restrictive and very low in calories, not because of the HCG. The severe dietary restriction causes the loss of appetite that makes this diet work. It works at the risk of muscle wasting because the body will turn burn muscle as fuel during time of starvation, including your heart muscle. It can also disrupt your endocrine system as you go into starvation mode. You will start converting T4 to reverse T3 instead of T3.
This is a very dangerous diet plan. The HCG is a placebo- just part of the confidence game that sells books.

posted Apr 20th, 2010 5:47 pm


Shay

+

WOW!! Im amazed at the ones who say it dont work! I have been on HCG for 15 days & lost 15 pounds!!! not to mention on the 12th day i had lost 15 inches of of various places on my body....Its great! I DO NOT get hungry I just suffer from cravings mostly... but it is mind over matter!

posted Apr 19th, 2010 11:55 pm



HCGCoach

+

I released over 50 lbs on this Protocol, but so many folks have bad information. Please go to my site at HCGCoach.com where I have compiled the most comprehensive FAQ about HCG dieting on the web.
Also, I want to take this opportunity to alert you to the problems with homeopathic hCG. I have investigated this tantalizing concept, but, unfortunately, it just doesn't pan out. You see, the primary law of homeopathy is to use substances that would cause the symptoms one is experiencing in a healthy person, but will alleviate those same symptoms when given in a homeopathic dilution. For example, if my symptoms produce an effect on me similar to a tarantula's bite, then tarantula venom would be my homeopathic treatment, even though I've not actually been bitten by a tarantula.
hCG is a hormone, similar to estrogen & progesterone. No one would think homeopathic birth control pills a feasible alternative! We know that the body requires a given quantity of molecular hormone to produce a given effect.
In addition, the measurement of success of hCG is not weight reduction, which
studies have shown that a VLCD without hCG results in similar rates as those using hCG, though I have yet to see consistent results from homeopathic hCG comparable to actual hCG.
The proven advantage of hCG is the body being prevented from consuming it's own protein & structural fat during VLCD, meaning the metabolism stays intact. This
does not happen when one loses weight on a VLCD without hCG. Given the evidence, this is the touchstone of whether any other type of hCG administration is successful.
So please be wary of the promotion of homeopathic hCG. As tempting as the prices and simplicity may be, there is no real evidence that it will give you the same results as pharmaceutical grade hCG and I do not recommend it, especially since the most likely consequence will be to further skew the hypothalamus!
Blessed, healthy, prosperous & FREE BE!
B'Shem Yahushua (in the Name of Jesus),
with love & shalom from
Shalom
THE HCG Coach

posted Apr 18th, 2010 11:16 pm


Stephanie

+

I started on 2/24 and today 4/14 I have lost 13 lbs and my husband has lost 18 lbs. I have seen lots of women and men with great results from the drops under the tongue. I do not think it is a scam...as for the person who commented and said they paid $1400 for the diet got ripped off. If you go to www.hcgcompletediet.com you can get the 49 day for $189. My husband and I got buy one get one half off and so our total was $283. It has worked wonderfully. I am a mom of a two year old and a one year old and I was not able to lose the weight from the first child so I started at 167 and I am down to 154. My hubby started at 221 and he is now at 203. WE LOVE IT AND WE ARE GOING TO LOOK HOT AGAIN FOR THE SUMMER. I have energy and I want to go out and walk with my kids and go run around at the park

posted Apr 15th, 2010 12:23 am


Kel

+

I have done the homeopathic HCG drops twice (for 25 days each time) and I've lost 50 pounds. I'm maintaining the weight loss and have been for 4 months. I was scared to do the injections or the sublingual drops because of the possible side affects. But if you know anything about Homeopathic you know that it reduces the risks of side affects. Anyway, I believe this diet works for anyone who is looking to make an entire life change. It's not a quick fix to get some quick pounds off and then go right back to the lifestyle that got you overweight in the first place. During the 20-40 days you do the restricted diet and the HCG you need to be making some changes in other aspects of your life and form healthier habits. All HCG allows you to do is lose the weight fast without breaking down good fats and muscle. Yes anyone eating a 500 calorie diet will lose weight fast, but you won't be able to stick to it for very long without ruining your overall health. The HCG assists your body in breaking down fat reserves that have normally been hard to access with just diet and exercise and that is what your body uses for fuel during the restricted dieting. I am a massage therapist and a natural health practitioner and I am so convinced of this diet and that it will work for anyone with a weight problem I sell homeopathic HCG in my store. Please don't put it down until you've done real research and experienced it yourself. If you follow the diet EXACTLY as it says you will have success and you will not be tired or hungry. If you're feeling tired you probably aren't getting the rest your body requires, it's not the HCG making you tired. If you're hungry, drink some water (most of the time hunger is confused with thirst) or take a really good look are you really hungry or is it emotional hunger. Anyway...I could go on about this all day, but I won't. Thanks for listening to me ramble

posted Apr 14th, 2010 5:45 pm


Kat

How did you get to where you are today that you are this desperate to lose weight at the cost of your health? The Cure: Eat sensible, drink plenty of water and yeah...get off you hoo hoo and sweat a little every day! Is it hard to do.....absolutely! "Quick fixes" do not last and are unhealthy. Change your bad habits and your life will change for the better...and forever. Why do you think there are so many diet pills out there.....none of them work!! Do yourself a huge favor: watch what you eat, drink half your weight in ounces daily and exercise......that's how you lose weight and keep it off.

posted Apr 14th, 2010 2:35 pm


Sean

I have been on this diet for one week. For a little backround, I work a night shift 4 days during the week but have responsibilities during the day on weekends... This basically means that I have no sleep schedule and a very awkward diet(I don't really have breakfast, lunch and dinner). I have had this schedule for over a year and have gained about 20 lbs over that time(before that I was a healthy 6'0" 170 lb male). Since having this crazy schedule, I had been eating a lot of fast food and had never consistently excersized(though, I am probably as active as the average person). So I started this diet with the goal of losing the 20 lbs I gained and maintaining a more healthy and balanced diet to keep it off.



I am using the drops under the tongue, and started by going all out for the binge days. Begining the first day of the 500 calorie intake, I weighed 192 lbs. The first 3 days are very, very hard. The first day I was flat out hungry, but I fast once a month so this was very doable. The next couple days I struggled more due to addiction than hunger... I did not feel hungry and had plenty of energy, but I could not stop thinking about all the food I wanted to eat(including seriosuly considering hitting the drive thru every 5 minutes for my whole night). I lost 4 lbs the first day, and 1 lb the next two. After those first few days, I have pretty much been on cruise control. The meals are very satifying, and I have the same energy levels I ever had. The temptations are pretty much gone, and the results makes for great motivation. I am now on day 7 and I weigh 178 lbs. My plan is to keep going until I hit 168 or stop losing weight. At that point, I will do the maintenance(same foods, normal calorie intake) for a few weeks and start hitting the gym again. The best thing about this diet is that it makes eating healthy so much easier and more desirable. I tried this diet because numerous family members had great success with it. They have all kept the weight off and I can attest they look like whole new people! If you follow the diet and don't cheat, you will lose the weight and keep it off. You should know that this is a HUGE lifestyle change, not just a 3 or 6 or 12 week program. This helps you lose the weight in that time, and then if you maintain a healthy diet you will keep the weight off.



I can only assume that people who have not had success with this diet cheated in some way. It is understandable because of the difficulty... But do not do this diet if you are even going to eat a small cookie or piece of candy! You will not lose the weight! Although I didn't have much to lose, the others I know lost 30 and 40 lbs so I know that anyone can do it. Also, none of us have experienced any kind of side effects... Including my mother who has been doing it for a year now. So far, so good for me.

posted Apr 14th, 2010 7:30 am


liz

-

I paid over $1400 for this diet. It's a FRAUD!!!! This isn't safe, I felt hungry and NO energy. This was extremely dangerous since I drive for a living! I literally laid in my hotel at night and wondered if I was even ok. Yes, you lose weight, do you keep it off? Absolutely not! Will you have energy? NO WAY!!! When I signed up, I was told that it was FDA approved, and it is, IF you are trying to get pregnant! As far as weight loss, as my doctor told me, if you are only eating 500 calories a day, you can lose weight no matter WHAT you inject in your body! Sure wish I would have called him before I started this diet. :( This diet is NOT safe, NOT healthy and NOT recommended by ANY dr. HCG injections diets are set up in dentist office, chiropractors or like my own, in an office building with a staff that I should have turned around and walked out. Out of desperation I tried it! Once again, failed attempts. I am going back to my diet and exercise! Is it quick? no way, is it effective, 100% PLEASE talk to your primary care physician before you waste your money here! I can not express enough how unhealthy this diet is!

posted Apr 11th, 2010 10:16 am


sweets2323

My Dr, charges 500 for 40 days and advised that the injections or oral are safe. but i see people talking about the homeopathic drops.. What is that..Aslo, I was wondering is this an product like phemn or eph. The ones that was killing everyone after a year or two? also, i see the the article said that it caused blood clots. Birth control pills causes blood clots as stated on the warning. Are the warnings just as minimal... Please feed back. Also, I just had a baby weight 150 before and 180 during pregnancy and after preg i weight 160. But i am stuck there. I been 160 for 7 months, I started the Dr. Ian diet and lost 3 pounds but gained it right back after three days off.

posted Apr 9th, 2010 4:13 am


youcan

Hi all,
any one had experienced NOTHING with the HCG??
I have started the loading last week Tuesday and the 500kcal on Thursday, today~i'm one pound up!!

posted Apr 4th, 2010 11:15 pm


wsm

Frizzy seems to have it figured out if you ask her. I agree that BFL is an awesome plan however do not agree with calling successful people "STUPID". HCG is a NATURAL horomone produced by your body. So I guess all the the people trying to conceive and get in the upwards of 1,000 iu's per day are well, "STUPID" too. How can it be "GOOD" for infertility and used HIGHLY for a women trying to get pregnant but a "horrible" and "foreign" component for weight loss. The "stupid" ones are the ones who contradict themselves or do not do complete research and self educate themselves.

I am not obese at all, actually still in pretty good hour glass shape, have great curves only a 36 around the chest area, 36 in the hips and do lead an active lifestyle but after 30 I have put on about 20 pounds. I have done EXTENSIVE research on this weight loss diet. My husband is basically a pre-med student in drugs, injectables and drug interactions within the body and actually has been on HCG for over a year now, not for weight loss but he does stay lean with litle body fat almost year round! He has not had irritibility, hair loss, acne, ED or any other horrid things that the "Experts" claim. He is in great shape and ALWAYS has awesome energy.

I go Wednesday to get my first injection, I cant wait. I have 8 weeks before the beach with a large group and I feel confident I will be Bikini ready! So Go back to BFL, you can catch up by next year....I have completed BFL before. Tough program but it's true it does work the natural way with awesome results for the diciplined.

I dont normally call people out on boards unless they are being "Stupid".

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 12:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PROPRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CONCON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Whats better than
hCG Diet?