Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review (UPDATED 2022): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2022
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2022?

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2022 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2022 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 24 of 25, 489 total comments)

Lisa

Wondering, if you only have say 10-lbs, if you recommend still the 500-caloric input, or will the drops still work, if only slight diet?

posted Feb 8th, 2010 4:58 pm


rvalen07

+

so far all the good reviews out weigh the bad so i have purchased the hcg homeopathic drops i will start tomorrow phase one me and i talked my husband in to it i only need to lose 20lbs im very excited i do have anxiety attacts so i have never been on a diet where i take pills this is the first diet where im actually using something im more concerned about jitters but i was reasured there are no jitters and promised my money back if anyone is starting the program like me i would love to chat and support you please email me

posted Feb 5th, 2010 12:38 am


Jeff

+

I lost 40 lbs in 25 days it is awesome if you stick to the protocol.

posted Feb 4th, 2010 5:22 pm


Gina

This diet is awesome! Day 14 and 13 lbls lighter. No side affects, no hunger. It works great for those who are looking to lose 20-30 lbs and KEEP IT OFF! This diet works, which is why the criticism by other diet companies, and others who are losing $$ because this one succeeds!

posted Jan 29th, 2010 10:59 am


Redprincess

Candy, like with anything, you have to be consistent. You can't go on and off the diet like that. Committ to the 23 days and see what happens. You might just find that you receive differnet results.

posted Jan 23rd, 2010 11:45 am


RedPrincessk

Candy, like with anything, you have to be consistent. You can't go on and off the diet like that. Committ to the 23 days and see what happens. You might just find that you receive differnet results.

posted Jan 23rd, 2010 11:16 am


Beth

+

This is day 5 of the diet for me. As of this morning I have lost 4 pounds. I did LA Weight loss about 4 years ago and lost 30 pounds over 4 months. I was hungry and grumpy ALL the time. With the HCG I may get a little hungry sometimes, but never so bad I feel the need to cheat. I am also amazed that I have not gotten grumpy! I am very happy so far with HCG! This diet is not for everyone and make sure to go through a physician to make sure you are a good candidate.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 6:00 pm


Sally

+

I have been on hcg for 21 days and have lost 22lb. The diet is tough. Why? Because those of us who are overweight got that way by eating what we want, when we want. This diet makes us think about absolutely everything we do. I get hungry. I eat only what is on the list, and drink lots of fresh lemonade. I am happy so far. It's not for everyone, but it is working for me. Good luck to everyone who is doing it.

posted Jan 20th, 2010 9:00 pm


Kathy

+

It worked just fine for me. I lost 20 pounds in a month with no hunger, problems. I used the time to detox (didn't follow the diet strictly, used UltraInflamx from Metagenics instead of food)

I just hate mentioning this to anyone because they think using hcg is nuts. You're not helping. But whatever floats your boat.

posted Jan 18th, 2010 8:36 pm


Lydia

+

I am on day 14 and i have lost 22 =)

posted Jan 18th, 2010 5:06 pm



flippyc

>>> PC "I gotta tell you . . . when my girlfriend 1st told me about this diet I thought it was too good to be true & she was basically full of you know what. But after seeing how effectively it worked on not only her but others that we both new, I was determined to give it a try. She used the injections - but as I was just coming off of Coumadin shots in my stomach, I wasn't real down w/shots again. I found a site that sells "drops". She said they had talked to a girl that used the drops & had nothing good to say about them. "I" however, decided to give them a try, mainly f/the cost. ... etc." <<<

What site did you find your drops on?

posted Jan 17th, 2010 12:27 am


marilyn johnson

+

I have used and been supervising this diet for over a year and a half and have NEVER had anyone suffer any side effects except the need to reprogram their dietary habits. I agree with the writer who stated he got off his coumadin and blood pressure medications as a result of losing the dangerous excessive weight. I have lost 35 pounds and kept it off for 2 yrs so I will have to say it is a winner. It isn't forever and there is life after the 42 day regimine.

posted Jan 13th, 2010 10:25 pm


looser sue

+

This is easy if you are able to follow a strict diet... A good mental exercise for sure. But! HEY. I did not get fat taking good care of myself...My hands put the wrong foods into my mouth. I feel great after one week...lost 6.5 # so far..

posted Jan 12th, 2010 7:12 am


Christy

+

I have used HCG a few times, years ago to take off those last few pounds and recently to lose a large sum of weight. So far, I have lost and kept off over 40 pounds. The diet is hard, but well worth it. I have used the injections and the oral drops (I prefer the injections). Side note, it you plan to do the injections at home and not going through a doctor's office, once mixed, HCG loses its effectiveness within a few weeks. It is a pain it the butt to obtain HCG if you use an international pharmacy, but you save some much money if you do.

posted Jan 7th, 2010 4:08 pm


fourbrothers

+

Hcg is a great product. I found i like the oral hcg diet drops better. i researched and found

posted Dec 31st, 2009 4:38 pm


PC

I gotta tell you . . . when my girlfriend 1st told me about this diet I thought it was too good to be true & she was basically full of you know what. But after seeing how effectively it worked on not only her but others that we both new, I was determined to give it a try. She used the injections - but as I was just coming off of Coumadin shots in my stomach, I wasn't real down w/shots again. I found a site that sells "drops". She said they had talked to a girl that used the drops & had nothing good to say about them. "I" however, decided to give them a try, mainly f/the cost.

BOY . . . can I tell you that this diet is the GREATEST thing that has EVER hit the internet. I followed Dr. Simeon's diet & lost a wopping 32 lbs the 1st time. Although I had no trouble keeping it off, I decided that I wanted to lose a bit more. I did the diet again about 3 months later. I did NOT want to lose that much again, so I DID cheat a bit, but I still lost the 20 pounds that I wanted to. I have also found that you DON'T have to do that "steak day". I just watch what I eat f/the next couple of days & the unwanted couple of pounds come right back off.

Yea, the daily caloric intake sounds a bit drastic . . . but hey, it's only f/3 weeks & the results are awesome.

Now that I've lost the weight I wanted to, I am TOTALLY off of not only the Coumadin, but Blood Pressure medication as well & I couldn't feel better.

The site I found the drops on sells them f/only $29 DELIVERED & you only use about 1/2 of the bottle - so needless to say, I had enough to do the diet again w/o further expense.

I can't say enough about this diet & the new size clothes? YeeHaw ! ! !

posted Dec 23rd, 2009 2:35 pm


BUNNY

+

i have not yet tried this. I am waiting to start it on 01/01/10! Im super excited, only have 30 to loose. My dad and step mom both did 1 round of it and got great results. And have kept it off. Neither had side effects or problems. Im a little nervous about the injections, but again ive been told after the first one, they arent that bad. I hope it all works well, ive been overweight my whole life no matter what I try, my metabolism is so low and i just platue at 180 no matter what. This will be the last thing i try to get my metabolism to work. As well as my menstral cycle and fertility!

posted Dec 20th, 2009 8:29 pm


Tracey

HCG works! I lost 60 lbs in less than 4 months and kept it off for a year. However, I gained 10 lbs back recently. I'm going on a 21-day round to get my went down a little further while I'm at it....to the 115 lbs level, which is good for my height of 5 ft. 3. The only thing I will say is you have to use your own 'game plan' in terms of maintenance plan. However, HCG worked when nothing else did for me. I had a choice to be heavy or not be heavy and my whole quality of life changed---thanks to HCG!
Note: I am a vegetarian and lost with little to no exercise.

posted Dec 19th, 2009 7:33 pm


Tracey

HCG works! I lost 60 lbs in less than 4 months and kept it off for a year. However, I gained 10 lbs back recently. I'm going on a 21-day round to get my went down a little further while I'm at it....to the 115 lbs level, which is good for my height of 5 ft. 3. The only thing I will say is you have to use your own 'game plan' in terms of maintenance plan. However, HCG worked when nothing else did for me. I had a choice to be heavy or not be heavy and my whole quality of life changed---thanks to HCG.

posted Dec 19th, 2009 7:31 pm


diane

dont do it!!! i got a really bad rash from it on my neck and chest. my neck swelled up n hives and it stayed that way for days!!

posted Dec 7th, 2009 5:54 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2022?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PROPRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CONCON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Whats better than
hCG Diet?